Four Shamrocks receive WLA 2016 regular season awards

Rhys Duch

Victoria The Western Lacrosse Association recently announced their 2016 regular season award recipients and four Victoria Shamrocks players were recognized in six categories;


COMMISSION TROPHY – Most Valuable Player – Rhys Duch

  • This trophy was donated by members of the 1958 Inter-City Box Lacrosse League Commission, to be awarded annually to the most outstanding player in regular season play, as voted by the WLA Board of Governors.

DENNY HUDDLESTON MEMORIAL AWARD – Regular Season Scoring Leader – Rhys Duch

  • Named in honour of former lacrosse and professional hockey player Denny Huddleston, this trophy has been awarded annually to the league scoring champion since 1962.

FRED WOOSTER TROPHY – Unsung Hero – Chris Wardle

  • This trophy was presented to the WLA in honour of Fred Wooster, long time player and supporter of lacrosse.  Presented annually to the player judged valuable and inspirational, yet approaches his role quietly; the league’s “Unsung hero”, as voted by the WLA Board of Governors and league staff.


Three Star Award – Rhys Duch

  • For receiving the most points in the three-star rankings during the regular season. Each time a player is named “first star”, they receive 4 points; 3 points for “second star”; 2 points for “third star”. Rhys accumulated 38 points to lead the league this year, which includes the league-leading 7 first-star nominations during the regular season.


All-Star Teams

As selected by popular vote by the WLA Board of Governors.


1st All-Star Team – Rhys Duch (forward)

2nd All-Star Team – Cory Conway (Forward) and Corey Small (Forward)