Nanaimo, BC (January 17, 2017) – The final U18 teams have qualified for the 2017 BC U18 Curling Championships.


The teams will be making history as they will be participating in the province’s first U18 championships. The BC U18 Curling Championships, for curlers 17 and under as of June 30, 2016, take place at Nanaimo Curling Centre from March 16-19, 2017.


These championships were previously for those 16 and under and it was called the Juvenile Curling Championships and the winners went to the Optimists International U18 Curling event (which featured teams from several provinces – but not all provinces – as well as places like the USA and Japan).


Now the provincial event is a U18 event and the BC winners will go on to compete in the first-ever Canadian U18 Curling Championships, featuring fourteen teams from all provinces and territories (including two from Ontario).


This weekend, January 13-15, saw the final playdowns taking place for the event. Eight U18 girls’ teams and eight U18 boys’ teams have now qualified.


The Kootenay playdowns took place at Grand Forks Curling Club and the Thompson Okanagan playdowns took place at the Eastlink Curling Centre in Oliver. Meanwhile the Island playdowns were staged in Nanaimo and the northern playdowns took place in 100 Mile House.  The following teams qualified:


Girls’ Team Name Home curling club(s) Skip Third Second Lead Fifth Coach
Douglas Parksville/Alberni Valley/Victoria Rebecca Douglas Julia Kresse Libby Elliott Michaela Morrill Lauren Onushko Dave Douglas
Richards Comox Valley Curling Centre Gracelyn Richards Chanelle Meeres Keelie Duncan Bryn Woloshyn   Darren Richards/Adam Duncan
Hessel Invermere and District Curling Centre Kaitlyn Hessel Alexa Von Niessen Lily Flamand Abigail Wells Anna Stevens Holly Jones
Connor Prince George Golf and Curling Club Carly Connor Loreleo Guidos Hannah Lindner Jordan Henson   Doug Dalziel
Cotter Vernon Curling Club Jaelyn Cotter Winter Harvey Katelyn McGillivray Cassidy Schwaerzle Elijah Meixner Jim Cotter
Schmidt Winfield Curling Club Clare Schmidt Abby Otteson Hunter Libke Jaiden Lloyd   Dave McGarry



Boys’ Team Name Home curling club(s) Skip Third Second Lead Coach
Silversides Victoria Curling Centre Duncan Silversides Zane Bartlett Ryan Cassidy Dennis Williams Ken MacDonald
Geiger Invermere and District Curling Centre Matt Schiman Tyler Powell Jordan Geiger   Joe Evanoff
Brown Prince George Golf and Curling Club James Brown Alasdair Wilson Tyler Slaney Andrew Sherstan Bill Fisher
Love Vernon Curling Club Thomas Love Erik Colwell Brendan Chapple Logan Miron Dean Chapple
Raber Vernon/Salmon Arm Adam Raber Ben Morin Andrew Colwell Gray Simms Dale Hofer
Murray Kelowna/Kamloops Ramsay Murray Tyler Makar Ewan Murray Jaryn MacInnes Monica Makar



Earlier in January the Lower Mainland teams competed at playdowns at Mission Granite Curling Club.  Click here to read about the four U18 teams who qualified at that event.


The scores and standings will be updated at for the provincial championships.


The winners of the U18 events will go on to compete at the first-ever national U18 event, which will take place in Moncton, New Brunswick, from April 17-22.