Nathan Hirayama

Canada moved into the Singapore Sevens cup quarterfinals after going 2-1 in pool play.

Canada opened its tournament with wins over Russia and Hong Kong, guaranteeing themselves a cup quarterfinal berth ahead of their pool stage finale with Fiji.

It marks the fifth time in the last six tournaments that Damian McGrath’s men had advanced to the cup quarterfinals.

Canada will now play at 1:14am ET/10:14pm PT.


Canada got off to a comfortable start in Singapore after a straight forward win over Russia.

Canada’s top try-scorer Justin Douglas opened the scoring for a 7-0 lead before Vladislav Sozonov cut the deficit to 7-5.

John Moonlight’s 98th series try gave Canada a 14-5 half time lead before Luke McCloskey pushed the lead to 21-5.

Vladislav Lazarenko got Russia’s second try as he collected a nice grubber kick before Mike Fuailefau sealed the victory with a late try despite Stanislav Bondarev’s late try.


Canada ran in six tries in a dominant win over Hong Kong to book a cup quarterfinal berth.

Lucas Hammond gave Canada the ideal start inside five minutes before Justin Douglas’ try pushed the lead to 12-0. Off of the ensuing restart, Mike Fuailefau directly collected Nathan Hirayama’s restart, beat one final Hong Kong defender, and paced in for a wonderful solo effort for a 19-0 half time lead.

Harry Jones quickly made it 24-0 to start the second before Matt Mullins scored his second try of the season while Jared Douglas rounded out the scoring by grabbing his first career HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series try to complete a 34-0 victory.


Fiji showed their class in the Pool A decider as they rompted to a 35-7 win.

Waisea Nacuqu (2) and Mesulame Kunavula gave Fiji a 21-0 advantage at the break before Nacuqu completed his hat-trick early into the second half. Sevuloni Mocenacagi’s try pushed the lead to 35-0 before Canada got on the board through a Jared Douglas try at the end.

Canada’s Men’s Sevens Squad for Singapore Sevens (Name, club, hometown):

Luke Bradley – (UVic Vikes/Port Alberni Black Sheep) Port Alberni, BC

Jared Douglas – (Abbotsford RFC) Abbotsford, BC

Justin Douglas – (Abbotsford RFC/BC Bears) Abbotsford, BC

Mike Fuailefau – (Castaway Wanderers/BC Bears) Victoria, BC

Lucas Hammond – (UVIC Vikes) Toronto, ON

Nathan Hirayama – (UVic Vikes/BC Bears) Richmond, BC

Harry Jones – (Capilano RFC) Vancouver, BC

Isaac Kaay  – (UVic Vikes) Kamloops, BC

Pat Kay – (Castaway Wanderers/BC Bears) Duncan, BC

Luke McCloskey – (Castaway Wanderers) Victoria, BC

John Moonlight – Captain (James Bay AA/Ontario Blues) Pickering, ON

Josiah Morra – (Toronto Saracens) Toronto, ON

Matt Mullins – (Queen’s University/Ontario Blues) Belleville, ON

Unavailable for Selection:

Phil Berna – (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC

Adam Zaruba – (Capilano RFC/BC Bears) Vancouver, BC

Coaching Staff:

Head Coach – Damian McGrath

Assistant Coach – Lee Douglas

Physiotherapist – Danielle Mah

Analyst – Calum Ramsay

Manager – Brian Hunter

Singapore Sevens Day 1 Schedule:

Canada 28-15 Russia

Canada 34-0 Hong Kong

Canada 7-35 Fiji