Burnaby, BC – The Western Lacrosse Association and the New Westminster Salmonbellies are excited to announce the schedule and ticket sales information for the 2017 Mann Cup, starting Friday, September 8th, 2017.

The New Westminster Salmonbellies earned the right to host and compete in this year’s national championship by defeating the Maple Ridge Burrards in the semi-finals and Victoria Shamrocks in the finals of the WLA playoffs; back East, the Peterborough Lakers and Six Nations Chiefs are battling to determine who will fly to the West Coast to contest the ultimate box lacrosse trophy – the Mann Cup.

All games in the best-of-seven series will be played at Queen’s Park Arena in New Westminster on the Salmonbellies iconic green wooden floor and broadcast live on WLA TV, with 7:30pm start times (doors open at 6:30pm) on the following dates:

  • Game #1 – Friday, September 8th
  • Game #2 – Saturday, September 9th
  • Game #3 – Monday, September 11th
  • Game #4 – Tuesday, September 12th
  • Game #5 – Wednesday, September 13th
  • Game #6 – Friday, September 15th
  • Game #7 – Saturday, September 16th

Donated by Sir Donald Mann in 1910 as the senior amateur championship trophy as a challenge trophy, the 1925 New Westminster Salmonbellies turned the trophy over to the Canadian Lacrosse Association to institute a national playoff system between the East and West. The Mann Cup was played for under field lacrosse rules, until 1932 when box lacrosse was adopted by the CLA. The trophy itself lives permanently at the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame in New Westminster, as it is made of solid, low-karat gold, and is valued at over $177,000.