Juan de Fuca Curling Centre is buzzing with activity as British Columbia’s young up-and-coming curlers descend for the 2019 BC U18 Curling Championships.


Eight teams of boys and eight teams of girls will compete for the BC title and the chance to go to nationals. The first draw starts at 2 p.m. PT.


The boys’ roster includes Team Sato (Hayato Sato, Joshua Miki, Dawson Ballard, Troy Chong), who recently won gold for BC at the Canada Winter Games.

Scores, rosters and schedules for the Juan de Fuca provincial event can be found at http://playdowns.curlbc.ca


The Canadian event takes place from April 2-7 at the Glen Allan Recreation Complex in Sherwood Park, Alberta.


The teams playing in the 2019 BC U18 Girls Curling Championship are as follows:

–          Team Bowles (Delta Thistle, Juan de Fuca)

–          Team Taylor (Royal City, Tunnel Town)

–          Team McCrady (Langley, Chilliwack)

–          Team Richards (Comox Valley)

–          Team Buchy (Kimberley)

–          Team Hafeli (Kamloops)

–          Team Douglas (Port Alberni, Parksville, Duncan)

–          Team Belway (Salmon Arm)

The teams playing in the 2019 BC U18 Boys Curling Championship are as follows:

–          Team Sato (Royal City)

–          Team Deane (Tunnel Town, Nanaimo, Duncan)

–          Team Sammons (Victoria)

–          Team Yamada (Kamloops)

–          Team Colwell (Vernon, Kamloops, Invermere)

–          Team Kent (Port Moody, Golden Ears, Richmond)

–          Team Duncan-Wu (Royal City, Port Moody)

–          Team Tao (Richmond, Abbotsford)