A fantastic field of athletes will be on the ice at the 2019 AMJ Campbell BC Mixed Curling Championship.

The championship takes place at Vancouver Curling Club from April 11-14.

Competing at the mixed event is Kimberley’s Tom Buchy rink, which features Kaila Buchy and Arissa Toffolo. The two girls have just returned from U18 nationals with a bronze medal. The Mixed team playing in Vancouver features two father-daughter duos, Tom and Kaila Buchy who play skip and third respectively and lead Arissa and her father Dave, who plays second.

The Mixed event also features returning champion Cody Tanaka, who skips a Richmond/Tunnel Town rink featuring third Kelly Shimizu, second Travis Cameron and lead Megan Daniels.

Tanaka won the title last year with his team of Shawna Jensen, Travis Cameron and Catera Park.

The field also includes Sarah Daniels, a three-time BC junior champion and three-time silver medallist at Junior nationals, who is competing as a skip. The team from Delta Thistle Curling Club also features third Brayden Carpenter and lead John Cullen, as well as Sarah Loken who recently won Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association curling nationals with her Douglas College rink.

Steve Kopf, 2013 BC Men’s champion, is skipping a team from Royal City Curling Club in New Westminster. His team features Ashley Sanderson, Matthew McCrady and Patty Wallingham, who was also part of the Douglas College rink that won nationals.

For the sixth year in a row this event is being supported by AMJ Campbell Van Lines.

Denis Cordick, Vice President, Marketing, at AMJ Campbell, said the company was proud to be the title sponsor of this great event. “We look forward to another tremendous event this year,” he said. “AMJ is the Official Moving Company for Curl BC, the Canadian Curling Association Season of Champions, the Grand Slam Series and the Canadian Olympic Team.”

The field for the 2019 AMJ Campbell BC Mixed Curling Championship is as follows:

Team Tolley (Okanagan playdown)
Team Kopf (Lower Mainland playdown)
Team Umbach (Lower Mainland playdown)
Team Daniels (Lower Mainland playdown)
Team Buchy (Kootenay playdown)
Team de Jong (Island playdown)
Team Craig (Open playdown)
Team Tanaka (Open playdown)