The Revelstoke Grizzlies captured their second Cyclone Taylor Cup after defeating the Victoria Cougars 5-1 in the championship game at the Rod Brind’Amour Arena in Campbell River, BC.

The Cyclone Taylor Cup is the BC Hockey Junior ‘B’ Championship bringing together the winners of the three (3) junior B leagues in BC. The Grizzlies were the Kootenay International Junior Hockey League (KIJHL) representative and were joined by the North Vancouver Wolf Pack of the Pacific Junior Hockey League (PJHL), Victoria Cougars of the Vancouver Island Junior Hockey League (VIJHL) and the host team, Campbell River Storm of the VIJHL.

The Grizzlies dropped their opening game of the tournament with a 4-1 loss to the Cougars but went on to win their next two (2) round-robin games, 5-1 over the Wolf Pack and 3-2 over the Storm, earning their spot in the gold medal game.

Ryan Bedard (Okotoks, AB) led the way for Revelstoke with a hat-trick and scoring the game-winning goal. The win for the Grizzlies was their second Cyclone Taylor Cup championship after capturing the title in 2010.

North Vancouver took home the bronze medal after defeating Campbell River in the third-place game 3-2 in overtime.

Victoria Cougars’ goaltender Owen Sikkes (Smithers, BC) has been named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.