Photo credit: Miguel Rodriguez/Surf Canada

Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, BC – The third and final day of Rip Curl Nationals came to a close at Wickaninnish Beach on Sunday afternoon, with the Women’s and Men’s Open closing out a packed day of finals. 

Champions were crowned in Open Women and Men, U-18, and Longboard divisions. Wheeler Hasburgh edged out local talent Reed Platenius with a final score of 11.9 to capture gold, while Sanoa Dempfle-Olin held off sister Mathea to capture gold in the Girls U-18 final. In the Longboard division, David Schiaffino and Lucy Ruffy were crowned champions.

The Men’s Open came down to the dying seconds of the four-man, 30-minute final, as local legend Peter Devries went to the air on his last wave, scoring an 8 to leapfrog Cody Thomas and Shane Campbell for gold. It’s the third-straight national title for Devries. 

Peter Devries,Photo credit: Miguel Rodriguez/Surf Canada
Peter Devries,Photo credit: Miguel Rodriguez/Surf Canada

On the women’s side, 2018 champion Bethany Zelasko beat out two-time WSL Big Wave champion Paige Alms with a 12.47 score to capture her second-straight gold. 

Bethany Zelasko,Photo credit: Miguel Rodriguez/Surf Canada
Bethany Zelasko,Photo credit: Miguel Rodriguez/Surf Canada

“A huge congratulations to all our competitors for coming out over the past three days,” said Surf Canada executive director Dom Domic. “It’s been a blast to see all this Canadian talent come together and compete. We’re already counting down the days until next year! A huge thank-you to all our volunteers and staff who work tirelessly to make this event happen.”

Open Men Final

  1. Peter Devries (14.5)
  2. Shane Campbell (13.13)
  3. Cody Thomas (12.26)
  4. Sean Foerster (12.1)

Open Women Final

  1. Bethany Zelasko (12.47)
  2. Paige Alms (11.07)
  3. Sanoa Dempfle-Olin (10.93)
  4. Mathea Dempfle-Olin (10.03)

Boys U-18

  1. Wheeler Hasburgh (11.9)
  2. Reed Platenius (10.54)
  3. Jeffrey Spencer (9.97)
  4. Boston Leier (8.17)

Girls U-18

  1. Sanoa Dempfle-Olin (10.74)
  2. Mathea Dempfle-Olin (8.8)
  3. Jasmine Porter (7.6)
  4. Aqua Bruhwiler (5.9)

Men’s Longboard

  1. David Schiaffino (12.6)
  2. TJ Atwood (10.96)
  3. Asia Dryden
  4. Adam Tory

Women’s Longboard 

  1. Lucy Ruffy (9.17)
  2. Lydia Ricard (7.54)
  3. Amy Sousa (5.37)
  4. Emily Ballard