Volleyball Canada announced the extended rosters for the men’s and women’s sitting volleyball programs for the 2019 season.

“After selection and training camps, we are pleased to announce this strong group of athletes who are working hard toward qualification for the Paralympic Games in 2020, but first we have some tough competition and a lot of work ahead for both the women’s and men’s teams,” said Nicole Ban, Volleyball Canada’s Para High Performance Manager.

First on the agenda, the men’s team will head to Columbus for five exhibition matches against the US from May 23-26 during the USA Open in Columbus, Ohio.

The women’s team is in Chiba, Japan, until May 27 to take part in the Sitting Volleyball Challenge Match 2019. The event, organized by Japanese Para-Sports Association (JPSA) and Japan Para Volleyball Association (JPVA) will see China, Italy, Canada and host Japan compete in the four-team tournament at Chiba Port Arena. The format consists of six round-robin matches followed by the finals.

Both the men’s and women’s teams are training in preparation for the 2019 Parapan American Games August 23 to September 1 in Lima, Peru. The travelling rosters for Lima have not yet been selected, but will draw from the extended rosters.

Women’s Extended Roster
Danielle Ellis (White Rock, BC)
Heidi Peters (Neerlandia, AB)
Sarah Melenka (Vegreville, AB)
Julie Kozun (Melfort, SK)
Anne Fergusson (Carleton Place, ON)
Jolan Wong (Vermillion, AB)
Felicia Voss-Shafiq (Burnaby, BC)
Katelyn Wright (Edmonton, AB)
Jennifer Oakes (Calgary, AB)
Angelena Dolezar (St. Albert, AB)
Amber Skyrpan (Wandering River, AB)
Payden Olsen (Cardston, AB)

Head Coach – Nicole Ban
Assistant Coach – Christine Biggs
Assistant Coach – Kate Rozendaal
Assistant Coach – Chelsea Hobbs
Mental Performance Consultant – Erin Brennan
Athletic Therapist – Lauren Demers
Physiotherapist – Yung Wong

Men’s Extended Roster
Doug Learoyd (Edmonton, AB)
Chris Bird (Brandon, MB)
Matteo Lisoway  (Minnedosa, MB)
Jesse Buckingham (Toronto, ON)
Austin Hinchey (Edmonton, AB)
Jesse Ward (Calgary, AB)
Bryce Foster (Thunder Bay, ON)
Mikael Bartholdy (Calgary, AB)
Jamoi Anderson (Toronto, ON)
Darek Symonowicz (Toronto, ON)
Brad Hunter (Thompson, MB)

Head Coach – Jeff Smith
Assistant Coach – Krystle Bush
Mental Performance Consultant – Matt Bain
Physiotherapist – Caitlin Baker