AWARDS Byram MVP with Ron and Elizabeth Toigo.Photos by: Chris Relke + Rik Fedyck

The accolades keep coming for Vancouver Giants defenceman Bowen Byram. Earlier today in Halifax, NS .Byram received the 2019 Sherwin-Williams CHL Top Prospect Award, becoming the first Vancouver Giant to ever receive that honour.

The 2018-19 season was truly a historic one for the 2001-born defenceman from Cranbrook, B.C. Byram was named a first-team Western Conference all-star after posting 26 goals and 45 assists for 71 points through 67 games. His 26 goals were the most ever in a single season by a Giants defenceman. Additionally he set a new WHL single-season record with six overtime winning goals. During the playoffs, Byram led all WHL skaters with 26 points making him the first ever defenceman to lead the WHL playoffs in scoring. For his WHL regular season career, Byram has 98 points (32G-66A), including 10 power-play goals, one short-handed goal, and 11 game-winning goals in 138 games.

Internationally Byram has represented Canada three times: The 2017 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge (Silver Medal), the 2018 World Under-18’s and the 2018 Hlinka-Gretzky Cup (Gold Medal).

On NHL Central Scouting’s Final Rankings List for the upcoming NHL Draft, Bowen Byram was ranked as the #2 North American skater and the top CHL skater.

Past Top Prospect Award Recipients:

2017-18: Andrei Svechnikov (Barrie Colts)
2016-17: Nolan Patrick (Brandon Wheat Kings)
2015-16: Pierre-Luc Dubois (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles)
2014-15: Connor McDavid (Erie Otters)
2013-14: Sam Bennett (Kingston Frontenacs)
2012-13: Seth Jones (Portland Winterhawks)
2011-12: Nail Yakupov (Sarnia Sting)
2010-11: Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Red Deer Rebels)
2009-10: Tyler Seguin (Plymouth Whalers)
2008-09: John Tavares (London Knights)
2007-08: Steven Stamkos (Sarnia Sting)
2006-07: Patrick Kane (London Knights)
2005-06: Jordan Staal (Peterborough Petes)
2001-02: Jay Bouwmeester (Medicine Hat Tigers)
2000-01: Jason Spezza (Windsor Spitfires)
1999-00: Rostislav Klesla (Brampton Battalion)
1998-99: Pavel Brendl (Calgary Hitmen)
1997-98: Vincent Lecavalier (Rimouski Oceanic)
1996-97: Joe Thornton (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
1995-96: Chris Phillips (Prince Albert Raiders)
1994-95: Bryan Berard (Detroit Jr. Red Wings)
1993-94: Jeff O’Neill (Guelph Storm)
1992-93: Alexandre Daigle (Victoriaville Tigres)
1991-92: Todd Warriner (Windsor Spitfires)
1990-91: Eric Lindros (Oshawa Generals)

*The CHL Top Draft Prospect Award was not handed out from 2003-05.