Over 250 rowers from across the country, including Junior, U23, Pan American and Senior National Team athletes, will be racing this week at the 2019 RCA National Rowing Championships and Canada Cup regattas at Burnaby Lake.

The RCA National Rowing Championships, which run September 26 to 28, will feature small boat competition (singles and pairs), with big boats (quads and eights) racing on September 29 in the Canada Cup.

Among the rowers vying for national titles are Canada’s 2019 World Rowing Championships medallists: PR3 men’s pair gold medallists Andrew Todd (Thunder Bay, ON) and Kyle Fredrickson (Duncan, BC) will race in the men’s single, PR2 men’s single silver medallist Jeremy Hall (St. Paul, AB) will race in the PR1 PR2 men’s single, and women’s pair bronze medallists Caileigh Filmer (Victoria, BC) and Hillary Janssens (Cloverdale, BC) will race together in the women’s pair.

Also aiming for the women’s pair podium are 2019 World Championship women’s eight teammates Lisa Roman (Langley, BC), Susanne Grainger (London, ON), Nicole Hare (Calgary, AB), Avalon Wasteneys (Campbell River, BC), Kasia Gruchalla-Wesierski (Calgary, AB), and Christine Roper (Ottawa, ON) and women’s four teammates Sydney Payne (Toronto, ON), Madison Mailey (Burnaby, BC), Stephanie Grauer (Vancouver, BC) and Jennifer Martins (Toronto, ON).

World Cup 2 gold medallist Jill Moffatt (Bethany, ON) and fellow Senior National Team lightweight women’s rowers Ellen Gleadow (Vancouver, BC) and Jennifer Casson (Kingston, ON) will also row in Burnaby, along with Pan American Games lightweight women’s double gold medallists Kate Haber (Owen Sound, ON) and Jaclyn Stelmaszyk (Uxbridge, ON).

Pan American Games champion Jessica Sevick (Strathmore, AB) will race in the women’s single, along with World Cup 2 bronze medallist Carling Zeeman (Cambridge, ON) and World Cup 3 bronze medallists Andrea Proske (Langley, BC) and Gabrielle Smith (Unionville, ON).

The men’s pair event will feature World Cup 2 bronze medallists Kai Langerfeld (Vancouver, BC) and Conlin McCabe (Brockville, ON) as well as members of the World Cup 2 bronze medal winning men’s eight: Benjamin de Wit (Port Alice, BC), Martin Barakso (Nanaimo, BC), Taylor Perry (Ancaster, ON), Gavin Stone (Brampton, ON), Mackenzie Copp (London, ON), Cody Bailey (St. Mary’s, ON), Jakub Buczek (Burnaby, BC), and Will Crothers (Kingston, ON).

2019 World Championship lightweight men’s rowers Patrick Keane (Victoria, BC), Aaron Lattimer (Delta, BC) and Maxwell Lattimer (Delta, BC) will line up in the lightweight men’s single event.
How to Watch Racing
Live streaming of Saturday’s NRCs Finals will be available through CBC Sports and the RCA YouTube page.