Canada players line up for the national anthem. Canada v New Zealand, Rugby World Cup, Pool B, Oita Stadium, Oita, Japan, Tuesday 2nd October 2019. Photo by Fotosport/David Gibson

Head coach Kingsley Jones has named his game day 23 that will take the pitch against two-time champions South Africa in Canada’s third game of the Rugby World Cup (RWC) on Tuesday, October 8th.

Coming off of a heartfelt loss to New Zealand, Jones and his team are looking to build off their experiences, using the opportunity to play against the worlds best to further develop their play.

“The last 20 minutes of the (New Zealand) game, we were competitive,” said Jones. “We fought hard. We never stopped, so there’s lots of positives to build on and that’s what we’re going to look at.”

Making his first RWC appearance is PEI’s Kyle Baillie. Baillie is returning from a lower body injury suffered against the USA. Phil Mack will step in for McRorie at scrumhalf with Shane O’Leary and injury replacement Guiseppe du Toit, possibly earning their first RWC caps off the bench.

“Great to welcome Phil back and all his experience,” added Jones. “Kyle comes back in, he gives us a lot and strengthens our lineout. Andrew Quattrin, he’s a young player and he has a big future. Every opportunity he’s given, he’s taken so he deserves the start. Couple of niggling injuries but we need that experience, we need that depth ahead of South Africa and Namibia.”

DTH van der Merwe is set to break the record for most RWC appearances by a Canadian at 15 on Tuesday in a special match for the South African-born winger.

Fans can watch Canada face the Springboks live on TSN1 and TSN 4, kickoff at 6:15am ET/ 3:15am PT.

Canada’s Roster:

1.      Hubert Buydens        (Saskatoon, SK)                             Unattached

2.       Andrew Quattrin     (Holland Landing, ON)                  Toronto Arrows

3.      Jake Ilnicki                 (Williams Lake, BC)                      Seattle Seawolves

4.      Evan Olmstead       (Vancouver, BC)                             Unattached

5.       Kyle Baillie              (Summerside, PEI)                         New Orleans Gold

6.      Lucas Rumball        (Scarborough, ON)                        Toronto Arrows

7.      Matt Heaton            (Godmanchester, QC)                  Rugby ATL

8.      Tyler Ardron            (Lakefield, ON)                                Chiefs                      ‘C’

9.      Phil Mack                 (Victoria, BC)                                  Seattle Seawolves

10.   Peter Nelson            (Dungannon, UK)                          Unattached

11.   DTH van der Merwe (Regina, SK)                                  Glasgow Warriors

12.   Ciaran Hearn           (Conception Bay South, NL)      Unattached

13.   Conor Trainor          (Vancouver, BC)                             USON Nevers

14.   Jeff Hassler               (Okotoks, AB)                                Seattle Seawolves

15.   Andrew Coe            (Markham, ON)                           Markham Irish

16.  Benoit Piffero           (Issoire, France)                             Blagnac SCR

17.   Djustice Sears-Duru (Oakville, ON)                               Seattle Seawolves

18.   Matthew Tierney    (Oakville, ON)                                 Castres Olympiques

19. Josh Larsen                (Parksville, BC)                               New England Free Jacks

20. Mike Sheppard         (Brampton, ON)                              Toronto Arrows

21.   Jamie Mackenzie    (Oakville, ON)                                 Toronto Arrows

22.   Shane O’Leary         (Cambellton, NB)                           Nottingham Rugby

23.   Guiseppe du Toit    (Maple Ridge, BC)                         Toronto Arrows


Canada’s Rugby World Cup 2019 Schedule:

Canada 7-48 Italy

Canada 0-63 New Zealand

03:15 PT/ 06:15 ET /19:15 LOCAL TIME
Broadcast: TSN1 and TSN4
Kobe Misaki Stadium, Kobe City

20:15 PT/ 23:15 ET/ 12:15 LOCAL TIME
Broadcast: TSN
Kamaishi Recovery Memorial Stadium, Iwate Prefecture, Kamaishi