The Western Hockey League, in partnership with BC Hockey, Hockey Alberta, Saskatchewan Hockey Association, Hockey Manitoba and Hockey Canada, announced today the launch of the 2019 WHL Cup, which will run from Wednesday, October 23 to Sunday, October 27, at the Markin MacPhail Centre in Calgary, Alta.

The WHL Cup features the highest-rated players in the under-16 age category from the provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. The tournament will be a four-team round-robin format and is the first step in Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence for players.

Rosters – LINK
Schedule – LINK

Team Alberta – PREVIEW
As five-time champions at the tournament, Alberta will boast another strong roster featuring six first-round selections from the 2019 WHL Bantam Draft. Alberta’s roster features three of the top-five selections from the May draft, with defenceman Keaton Dowhaniuk (third overall, Prince George Cougars), as well as forwards Koehn Ziemmer (fourth overall, Prince George Cougars) and Nate Danielson (fifth overall, Brandon Wheat Kings) leading the team’s talented roster. Calgary’s Nicholas Jones (93rd overall, Brandon Wheat Kings) and Edmonton’s Justen Maric (98th overall, Red Deer Rebels) will tend to the crease.

Team British Columbia – PREVIEW
British Columbia will field a strong roster for their title defence, including nine first-round selections from the 2019 WHL Bantam Draft. B.C.’s top two selections from May’s draft lead the list of talent for the western-most province, with Mats Lindgren (seventh overall, Kamloops Blazers) and forward Brandon Lisowsky (ninth overall, Saskatoon Blades) leading their respective positions. Lindgren will be joined by fellow Blazer prospects Connor Levis (20th overall), Fraser Minten (72nd overall), and Cameron Johnson (86th overall). Kolby Hay (62nd overall, Edmonton Oil Kings) and Kyle Kelsey (107th overall, Moose Jaw Warriors) will tend to the crease.

Team Manitoba – PREVIEW
Following another bronze-medal finish in 2018, Manitoba is icing a roster looking to take that next step forward. Their 20-man team features three first-round selections from the 2019 WHL Bantam Draft, led by forwards Conor Geekie (second overall, Winnipeg ICE) and Tyson Zimmer (sixth overall, Brandon Wheat Kings) and defenceman Denton Mateychuk (11th overall, Moose Jaw Warriors). Left wing Cayden Glover (25th overall, Medicine Hat Tigers) and defenceman Spencer Penner (29th overall, Seattle Thunderbirds) will add to the team’s depth. Reid Dyck (45th overall, Swift Current Broncos) and Ethan Buenaventura (77th overall, Calgary Hitmen) will protect the blue paint for Manitoba.

Team Saskatchewan – PREVIEW
Eager to work their way back onto the podium in 2019, Saskatchewan will bring a motivated squad to Calgary in late October. This year’s team is led by defenceman Kevin Korchinski (10th overall, Seattle Thunderbirds), the top player from his province selected at last spring’s WHL Bantam Draft. Joining him will be five second-round selections, including defenceman Hunter Mayo (23rd overall, Red Deer Rebels), Kyren Gronick (27th overall, Prince George Cougars), defenceman Kalem Parker (32nd overall, Victoria Royals), and right wing Carter Dereniwsky (39th overall, Victoria Royals). Rounding out the quintet of second-round choices is Dylan Ernst (28th overall, Kamloops Blazers), the top goaltender selected at May’s draft.

Past Participants
[Player (Branch Team), WHL Club, NHL Draft Club (NHL Draft Year)]

Matt Dumba (Alberta), Portland Winterhawks, Minnesota Wild (2012)
Derrick Pouliot (Saskatchewan), Portland Winterhawks, Pittsburgh Penguins (2012)
Griffin Reinhart (British Columbia),  Edmonton Oil Kings, New York Islanders (2012)
Morgan Reilly (British Columbia), Moose Jaw Warriors, Toronto Maple Leafs (2012)

Jake Virtanen (British Columbia), Calgary Hitmen, Vancouver Canucks (2014)
Jayce Hawryluk (Manitoba), Brandon Wheat Kings, Florida Panthers (2014)
Conner Bleackley (Alberta), Red Deer Rebels, St. Louis Blues (2016)
Brayden Point (Alberta), Moose Jaw Warriors, Tampa Bay Lightning (2014)
Ryan Gropp (British Columbia), Seattle Thunderbirds, New York Rangers (2015)
Haydn Fleury (Saskatchewan) Red Deer Rebels, Carolina Hurricanes (2014)

Mathew Barzal (British Columbia), Seattle Thunderbirds, New York Islanders (2015)
Nick Merkley (Alberta), Kelowna Rockets, Arizona Coyotes (2015)
Jansen Harkins (British Columbia), Prince George Cougars, Winnipeg Jets (2015)
Brendan Guhle (Alberta), Prince George Cougars, Buffalo Sabres (2015)
Ethan Bear (Saskatchewan), Seattle Thunderbirds, Edmonton Oilers (2015)

Tyler Benson (Alberta), Vancouver Giants, Edmonton Oilers (2016)
Brett Howden (Manitoba), Moose Jaw Warriors, Tampa Bay Lightning (2016)
Sam Steel (Alberta), Regina Pats, Anaheim Ducks (2016)
Kale Clague (Alberta), Moose Jaw Warriors, Los Angeles Kings (2016)
Nolan Patrick (Manitoba), Brandon Wheat Kings, Philadelphia Flyers (2017)

2015 WHL Cup All-Star Team
G – Matthew Thiessen (Manitoba), Tri-City Americans, Vancouver Canucks (2018)
D – Ty Smith (Alberta), Spokane Chiefs, New Jersey Devils (2018)
D – Jett Woo (Manitoba), Calgary Hitmen, Vancouver Canucks (2018)
F – Carson Focht (Saskatchewan), Calgary Hitmen, Vancouver Canucks (2019)
F – Eric Florchuk (Alberta), Saskatoon Blades, Washington Capitals (2018)
F – Eli Zummack (British Columbia), Spokane Chiefs

2016 WHL Cup All-Star Team
G – Byron Fancy (Alberta), Red Deer Rebels
D – Kaeden Korczak (Saskatchewan), Kelowna Rockets, Vegas Golden Knights (2019)
D – Braden Schneider (Saskatchewan), Brandon Wheat Kings
F – Logan Barlage (Saskatchewan), Lethbridge Hurricanes
F – Peyton Krebs (Alberta), Winnipeg ICE, Vegas Golden Knights (2019)
F – Josh Williams (British Columbia), Edmonton Oil Kings

2017 WHL Cup All-Stars
G – Bryan Thomson (Saskatchewan), Lethbridge Hurricanes
D – Kaiden Guhle (Alberta), Prince Albert Raiders
D – Daemon Hunt (Manitoba), Moose Jaw Warriors
F – Justin Sourdif (British Columbia), Vancouver Giants
F – Kyle Crnkovic (Alberta), Saskatoon Blades
F – Connor McClennon (Alberta), Winnipeg ICE