Canada Soccer is pleased to confirm that the 2019 Canadian Premier League Champion will be given an automatic berth in the 2020 Concacaf League set to commence in the second half of 2020.  The winner of the 2020 Concacaf League advances to the 2021 edition of the Concacaf Champions League.

Both 2019 Canadian Premier League Finalists Forge FC and Cavalry FC are professional club members of Canada Soccer.  The two teams will face off on 26 October and 2 November to crown the debut Canadian Premier League Champion. Calgary, AB’s Cavalry FC were crowned champions of both the Spring and Fall seasons to earn their place in the Finals. Hamilton, ON’s Forge FC finished second in both seasons and qualified for the Finals based on their second-place Fall season placement.

“Canada Soccer would like to congratulate the Canadian Premier League on a successful debut season and wish Cavalry FC and Forge FC the best of luck in the Finals,” said Steven Reed, Canada Soccer President.  “We are Canada Soccer Nation and are proud of our role in developing, governing and growing the game through our support of the expanded professional playing opportunities created through the launch of the Canadian Premier League and the securing of a second Canadian entry in confederation competitions that ultimately lead to the FIFA Club World Cup.”

Montréal Impact will represent Canada in the 2020 edition of the Concacaf Champions League by virtue of having captured Canada Soccer’s 2019 Canadian Championship.

In 2019, Forge FC gained entry into Concacaf League after a three-way, head-to-head abbreviated qualification structure saw them best FC Edmonton and Winnipeg, MB’s Valour FC.   Consistent with seeding for the Canadian Championship based on membership, these three inaugural teams were provided with a unique opportunity to earn a spot in the 2019 Concacaf League.  Forge advanced out of the 2019 Concacaf League Preliminary Round defeating Guatemala’s Antigua GFC 2:1 on aggregate before falling to Honduran side Olimpia in the Round of 16.

All seven Canadian Premier League (CPL) teams participated in Canada Soccer’s largest-ever Canadian Championship with Cavalry FC having the best finish of the CPL teams across the country’s 13-team professional club championship.  The 2019 edition marked the first time that the provinces of Nova Scotia and Manitoba were represented in the competition.  Calvary FC advanced out of Qualifying Round 1 to the Semi-Final Round before falling to eventual 2019 Canadian Champions Montréal Impact 3:1 on aggregate.

The 26 October first leg of the Finals in Hamilton, ON will feature Canada Soccer National List Referees Pierre-Luc Lauzière, Lyes Arfa, Peter Manastyrsky and Yusri Rudolf.  Canada Soccer through its National List of Referees has worked closely with the Canadian Premier League to provide the highest standard of officiating through the league’s schedule with 400 referees assigned to 100 matches along with 100 assessors.