2019 Premier’s Awards for Indigenous Youth Excellence in Sport, Fraser Regional Recipients and Receiving Line. (L-R): Chelsei Gray, Aubrey Sparvier, Noah Gray, Kendrick Lounsbury, Kaleb Borg, Emmery Borg (Standing L-R): Chief Harley Chappell, Semiahmoo First Nation, Cheryl Charlie, I·SPARC Fraser Regional Lead, Kennan McCarthy, President, Nova Métis Heritage Association, Vanessa Hickman, Fraser Region Aboriginal Friendship Centre, Tara Roberts, City of Surrey, Rick Brant, Executive Director, I·SPARC.

The 2019 Premier’s Awards for Indigenous Youth Excellence in Sport were presented last night to six outstanding Indigenous youth athletes from British Columbia’s Fraser Region. The Regional Awards were presented during a formal celebration held at the Beecher Place Banquet Hall in Surrey, BC. The Fraser is the fourth of the Indigenous Sport, Physical Activity & Recreation Council’s (I·SPARC) six regions to honour Indigenous athletes through this unique province-wide awards program.

I·SPARC, in collaboration with the Province of British Columbia, launched the regional nomination process in August 2019, receiving close to 130 nominations from across the province for Indigenous athletes under 25 years of age who are competing in performance sport and committed to living healthy, active lifestyles.


A total of 36 recipients were chosen within I·SPARC’s six regions – Fraser, Interior, Northeast, Northwest, Vancouver Coastal, and Vancouver Island.

The 2019 Premier’s Awards for Indigenous Youth Excellence in Sport – Fraser Regional Recipients

  • Chelsei Gray, 17, Canoe, Kayak, Scowlitz First Nation (Lake Errock)
  • Kaleb Borg, 15, Lacrosse, Rugby, Métis Nation BC (White Rock)
  • Aubrey Sparvier, age 17, Soccer, Cowessess First Nation (Port Coquitlam)
  • Kendrick Lounsbury, age 15, Baseball, Football, Namgis First Nation (Surrey)
  • Emmery Borg, 18, Lacrosse, Métis Nation BC (White Rock)
  • Noah Gray, age 15, Canoe, Kayak, Scowlitz First Nation (Lake Errock)

“Congratulations to each of the 36 talented athletes selected as regional award recipients this year,” said Lisa Beare, Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture. “Your extraordinary achievements in sport and school and as community leaders are an inspiration to everyone in B.C. I wish you the very best as you continue to strive for greatness in athletics and beyond.”
“I am happy we have partnered with the BC Government to recognize our elite athletes,” said Cheryl Charlie, Fraser Regional Lead for I·SPARC. “The recipients are not only talented in sport, but are strong leaders with high goals. We are proud of all the Fraser Region’s nominees and recipients and wish them the best in their future pursuits.”

“The Premier’s Awards is a fantastic opportunity to showcase our young athletes,” said Chief Harley Chappell, Semiahmoo First Nation. “Sports have played a huge role in our communities and we get to take a step back to remember the hard work, dedication and discipline that come with high level sports, leading to positive lifestyles and skills that prepare young people for any challenge that comes their way.”

These Regional recipients automatically serve as nominees for the Provincial Awards selected in early 2020. 10 Provincial Recipients will be awarded at the Gathering Our Voices Opening Ceremony in Kamloops on March 16, 2020 and go on display at the BC Sports Hall of Fame.