Bianca Andreescu waves to the crowd after her match against Karolina Pliskova in quarter-finals of Rogers Cup presented by National Bank at the Aviva Centre in Toronto, Ontario. (Jared Wickerham/Tennis Canada)

Tennis Canada announced on Wednesday that Bianca Andreescu is the winner of the 2019 Excellence Awards in the categories of Female Player of the Year, Singles Player of the Year and Most Improved Player. In addition, Gabriela Dabrowski has been named once again as the Doubles Player of the Year while Leylah Annie Fernandez is the Junior Player of the Year.

“We would like to offer sincere congratulations to Bianca, Gabriela and Leylah Annie on their impressive accomplishments throughout the year,” stated Michael Downey, President and CEO at Tennis Canada. “2019 has been an exceptional year for tennis in Canada and it is notably thanks to the historic exploits of Bianca that we were able to live extraordinary moments. In addition to her success on the court, she also demonstrated that she is an outstanding ambassador for Canadian tennis. For her part, Gabriela continued to establish herself as one of the best doubles players in the world; while Leylah Annie garnered attention for her results not only in juniors, but also at the professional level. She undoubtedly has a very bright future. We are already impatiently awaiting the start of the 2020 season and we will be closely following their future exploits.”

Andreescu takes home this honour for the second time in three years. She certainly had an exceptional 2019 season which saw her make Canadian tennis history by becoming the first Canadian athlete to capture a singles Grand Slam title when she won the US Open. A few weeks earlier, Andreescu became the first Canadian in 50 years to be crowned champion at the Rogers Cup presented by National Bank, since Faye Urban in 1969. Furthermore, she won her first WTA title in March at the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells, during what was the beginning of her meteoric rise. The Ontario native, who began the year ranked at no. 152, rose to the no. 4 spot (on October 21). After being named “Newcomer of the Year” by the WTA and becoming the first tennis player to win the prestigious Lou Marsh Trophy, it is no surprise that she also wins the Tennis Canada Excellence Award for Most Improved Female Player.

Dabrowski and Fernandez also honoured
With her doubles ranking of no. 8, Dabrowski is the best doubles player in the country and one of the recognized specialists on the WTA tour. In July, she reached the doubles final at Wimbledon alongside partner Xu Yifan. For a third consecutive year, Dabrowski earned a spot in the year-end WTA Finals which brings together the eight best doubles teams of the year. She also added a WTA title to her collection when she won the Nuremberg Open, bringing her total to nine titles.

For her part, Fernandez, had a lot of success playing on both the junior and professional circuits in 2019. In fact, she reached the final at the Junior Australian Open and became the first Canadian player to win the title at the Junior French Open. Her success at the junior level allowed her to rise to the no. 3 spot in the ITF rankings. At the professional level, the 17-year-old won her first title at the Gatineau National Bank Challenger and followed that up with a run to the final in Granby.


YearMale Player of the YearFemale Player of the Year
1982Réjean GenoisMarjorie Blackwood
1983Glenn MichibataCarling Bassett
1984Martin WostenholmeCarling Bassett
1985Glenn MichibataCarling Bassett
1986Andrew SznajderHelen Kelesi
1987Grant ConnellHelen Kelesi
1988Andrew SznajderJill Hetherington
1989Andrew SznajderHelen Kelesi
1990Grant ConnellHelen Kelesi
1991Grant ConnellPatricia Hy
1992Grant ConnellPatricia Hy
1993Greg RusedskiPatricia Hy
1994Sébastien LareauJana Nejedly
1995Grant ConnellPatricia Hy-Boulais
1996Sébastien LareauPatricia Hy-Boulais
1997Daniel NestorPatricia Hy-Boulais
1998No record of awardNo record of award
1999No record of awardNo record of award
2000Daniel Nestor and Sébastien LareauSonya Jeyaseelan
2001Daniel NestorJana Nejedly
2002Frédéric NiemeyerMaureen Drake
2003Daniel NestorMaureen Drake
2004Daniel NestorAleksandra Wozniak
2005Daniel NestorStéphanie Dubois
2006Frank DancevicAleksandra Wozniak
2007Daniel NestorStéphanie Dubois
2008Daniel NestorAleksandra Wozniak
2009Daniel NestorAleksandra Wozniak
2010Daniel NestorRebecca Marino
2011Milos RaonicRebecca Marino
2012Milos RaonicAleksandra Wozniak
2013Milos RaonicEugenie Bouchard
2014Milos RaonicEugenie Bouchard
2015Milos RaonicEugenie Bouchard
2016Milos RaonicEugenie Bouchard
2017Denis ShapovalovBianca Andreescu
2018Milos RaonicEugenie Bouchard
2019Will be announced December 19Bianca Andreescu