Canada Soccer’s 2020 Canadian Championship will feature 12 teams from four leagues across four rounds beginning 17 June 2020 and culminating in the crowning of the 2020 Canadian Championship winner on 23 September 2020. The 2020 Canadian Championship winner will raise the Voyageurs Cup and be provided Canada’s only direct entry into the 2021 Concacaf Champions League competition.

“The Canadian Championship provides Canada’s professional clubs and those playing in standards-based leagues with the direct qualification route to the Concacaf Champions League competition,” said Peter Montopoli, Canada Soccer General Secretary. “Canada Soccer is proud to provide international playing opportunities to its member professional clubs and deliver an exciting Voyageurs Cup competition to fans from coast-to-coast.”

The 2020 Canadian Championship schedule reflects regional considerations to ensure that team travel is minimized and local rivalries are fostered for the coast to coast competition.  Canada Soccer’s Men’s Professional Game Committee which includes representation from all four leagues competing in the competition had the opportunity to review and provide input to the final schedule at its November 2019 meeting.

Eight teams will enter Qualifying Round 1 to play two-legged home and away matches on 16-25 June 2020. Premier Ligue du Quebec (PLSQ) Champions AS Blainville, making their third straight Canadian Championship appearance, and League1 Ontario (L1O) Champions Masters Futbol Academy were drawn into separate brackets to provide them with an opportunity to face Canadian Premier League (CanPL) sides HFX Wanderers FC and York9 FC, respectively. Four other CanPL sides will compete in Qualifying Round 1 including FC Edmonton who will face Pacific FC while Valour FC will match up against rivals Forge FC.

The Quarterfinal Round will run 7-17 July and see 2019 Canadian Championship Semi-Finalists Cavalry FC (CanPL), who advanced the furthest of CanPL teams in last year’s edition, join the competition along with Major League Soccer’s (MLS) Vancouver Whitecaps FC, Toronto FC and 2019 Canadian Championship winners Montreal Impact.

Quarterfinal matches will take place 8-15 July 2020. The Semi-Final Round will take place 12-19 August 2020 with the Final Round scheduled for 16-23 September 2020.

2020 Canadian Championship Schedule

Qualifying Round 1 (16-25 June 2020)

Match 1 – FC Edmonton (CanPL) v Pacific FC (CanPL)
Match 2 – Valour FC (CanPL) v Forge FC (CanPL)
Match 3 – AS Blainville (PLSQ) v HFX Wanderers (CanPL)
Match 4 – Masters Futbol Academy (L10) v York9 FC (CanPL)

Quarterfinal Round (7-16 July 2020)

Match 5 – Winner Match 1 v Vancouver Whitecaps FC (MLS)
Match 6 – Winner Match 2 v Cavalry FC (CanPL)
Match 7 – Winner Match 3 v Montreal Impact (MLS)
Match 8 – Winner Match 4 v Toronto FC (MLS)

Semi-Final Round (11-20 August 2020)

Match 9 – Winner Match 5 v Winner Match 6
Match 10 – Winner Match 7 v Winner Match 8

Final Round (15-24 September 2020)

Match 11 – Winner Match 9 v Winner Match 10