Women's International Friendly 8 April 2019 - San Pedro del Pinatar, ESP Canada Soccer by David Aliaga Shelina Zadorsky, Janine Beckie & Christine Sinclair

Canada Soccer have announced a 22-player squad for a two-week preparation camp in Texas ahead of the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship. The pre-camp is the final preparation ahead of the eight-nation tournament that opens on 29 January in Edinburg, Texas.

“It’s a crucial period for our Women’s National Team as we prepare for our opportunity to qualify for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games,” said Kenneth Heiner-Møller, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team Head Coach. “It’s an exciting time for our players knowing the year that could be ahead for them. We want to qualify for Tokyo 2020 and deliver a massive performance at the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament in Japan.”

Canada’s roster will feature the majority of their FIFA Women’s World Cup squad, along with 15-year-old forward Olivia Smith. Sixteen players were part of the Rio 2016 bronze medal winning squad, while veterans Christine Sinclair, Sophie Schmidt, and Desiree Scott were also bronze medallists at London 2012.

Canada’s final 20-player roster for the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying tournament will be released later this month.

Canada will face St. Kitts and Nevis, Jamaica and Mexico in Group B after which the top two-nations in the group will cross over to alternate Concacaf Semi-finals against the top-two nations in Group A. The two winners of those Concacaf Semi-finals on Friday 7 February will qualify for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games as well as advance to the Sunday 9 February Concacaf Final. Both the Semi-finals and Final will be played in Carson, CA, USA near Los Angeles.

Canada has qualified for the Olympics three times through the Concacaf Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship, defeating Mexico (2008, 2012) and Costa Rica (2016) in the Semi-finals to earn their Olympic berth. Canada went on to place eighth in 2008 Beijing Olympics and won bronze at London 2012 and at Rio 2016. Canada earned the distinction of becoming the first Canadian team to win back-to-back medals at the Summer Olympic Games since 1908 as well as the first-ever women’s Canadian team to repeat on the podium.
1- GK- Stephanie Labbé | USA / NC Courage
2- FB- Allysha Chapman | USA / Houston Dash
3- CB- Kadeisha Buchanan | FRA / FCF Olympique Lyonnais
4- CB- Shelina Zadorsky | USA / Orlando Pride
5- CB- Rebecca Quinn | USA / Seattle Reign FC
6- F- Deanne Rose | USA / University of Florida
7- M- Julia Grosso | USA / University of Texas at Austin
8- FB- Jayde Riviere | USA / University of Michigan
9- F- Jordyn Huitema | FRA / Paris Saint-Germain
10- FB- Ashley Lawrence | FRA / Paris Saint-Germain
11- M- Desiree Scott | USA / Utah Royals FC
12- F- Christine Sinclair | USA / Portland Thorns FC
13- M- Sophie Schmidt | USA / Houston Dash
14- M- Gabrielle Carle | USA / Florida State University
15- F- Nichelle Prince | USA / Houston Dash
16- F- Janine Beckie | ENG / Manchester City FC
17- M- Jessie Fleming | USA / UCLA
18- GK- Kailen Sheridan | USA / Sky Blue FC
19- F- Adriana Leon | ENG / West Ham United FC
20- F- Jenna Hellstrom | USA / Washington Spirit
21- GK- Sabrina D’Angelo | SWE / Vittsjö GIK
22- F- Olivia Smith | CAN / Super REX Ontario