Sixteen U16 curling teams have booked their tickets for the BC Winter Games in Fort St John.


Playdowns in Quesnel, Penticton, Lake Cowichan and at Golden Ears Winter Club in Maple Ridge saw five boys’ teams and one girls’ team qualify for the multi-sport event taking place Feb. 20-23. The curling will be staged at Fort St John Curling Club.


For the boys, all eight zones are fielding teams. Team Woolends qualified out of Zone 8 (Cariboo-Northeast), with Team Beaton taking the Zone 2 (Thompson-Okanagan) spot. Team Parkinson grabbed the Zone 6 (Vancouver Island-Central Coast) spot, with Team Reed and Team Fei taking Zones 3 (Fraser Valley) and 4 (Fraser River) respectively. All the playdowns wrapped up on Jan. 12. Boys’ teams from Zones 1, 5 and 7 were awarded entries without having to playdown.


For the girls, teams from seven Zones will be represented with the host Zone 8 – Cariboo-North East not fielding a team. The extra berth was awarded to Zone 2 – Thompson/Okanagan. A playdown at Lake Cowichan determined the final spot for Zone 6 (Vancouver Island-Central Coast) and that went to Team Richards of Comox Valley.


Several teams have already had provincial experience this year, including members of Team Reed and Team Fei who were at the BC Junior Curling Championships in Victoria. Members of Team Parkinson and Team Richards were also at the U21 event in Victoria.


The event in Fort St John will see two pools for each gender compete in a round robin format with the top teams advancing to playoffs.


During the event, Curl BC is partnering with viaSport and the BC Games Society to run a Coach Mentorship Program. This year’s coach mentor is former competitive player Barb Zbeetnoff.


The full rosters of all the teams headed to the BC Winter Games are below.


Scores for the BC Winter Games will be available at


Full team rosters:




Zone 1 (Kootenays)

Team Wolfram, Grand Forks

Skip: Zach Wolfram

Third: Sam Maffioli

Second: Reece Whitehead

Lead: Keith Marks

Coaches: Dave Bartlett/Kevin Maffioli


Zone 2 (Thompson-Okanagan)

Team Beaton, Kelowna/Vernon

Skip: Dane Beaton
Third: Connor Applegate
Second: Zach Wielgosz
Lead: Desmond Johns
Coach: Travis Wielgosz


Zone 3 (Fraser Valley)

Team Reed, Golden Ears Winter Club

Skip: Thomas Reed
Third: Miles Reed
Second: Peter Sheridan
Lead: Sawyer Miley
Fifth: Wally Dezura
Coach: Rob Smith


Zone 4 (Fraser River)

Team Fei, GEWC/Royal City/Port Moody/Delta Thistle

Skip: Kazune Eugene Fei
Third: Adam Fenton
Second: Evan Fenton
Lead: James McCreedy
Coach: Fuji Miki/Brad Fenton


Zone 5 (Vancouver-Coastal)

Team Toffoli, Vancouver

Skip: Jake Toffoli

Third: Adam Rusch

Second: Dylan Toffoli

Lead: Isaac Rusch

Fifth: Joshua Jordan

Coach: Sandra Comadina


Zone 6 (Vancouver Island-Central Coast)

Team Parkinson, Comox/Qualicum

Skip: Chris Parkinson
Third: Jackson Nowak
Second: Henry Holland
Lead: Graham Lee

Coach: Bob Franklin


Zone 7 (North West)

Team Kildaw, Hirsch Creek (Kitimat)

Skip: Duncan Kildaw

Third: Kemper Weightman

Second: Kris McLean

Lead: Markus Anthony

Coach: Laurence Turney


Zone 8 (Cariboo-North East)

Team Woolends, Quesnel

Skip: Noah Woolends
Third: Kyle Eggert
Second: Brycen Trimble
Lead: Landon Cherry

Fifth: Caleb Woolends
Coach: Justin Nillson





Zone 1 (Kootenays)

Team Smith, Elkford

Skip: Taylor Smith

Third: Annaka Rodd

Second: Jorja Hamilton

Lead: Abigail Talbot

Coach: Dustin Smith


Zone 2 (Thompson-Okanagan)

Team Rempel, Kelowna

Skip: Hannah Rempel

Third: Vivian Schmeeckle

Second: Megan Rempel

Lead: Lauren Cochrane

Coach: Wendy Cseke


Zone 2 (Thompson-Okanagan)

Team Trip, Penticton

Skip: Jessica Trip

Third: Erin Manning

Second: Rachel Lane

Lead: Audrey Gosse

Fifth: Miranda Allen

Coach: Michelle Pratt


Zone 3 (Fraser Valley)

4KGirl$, Golden Ears Winter Club (Maple Ridge)

Skip: Amy Wheatcroft

Third: Ashley Dezura

Second: Brook Aleksic

Lead: Hannah Smeed

Fifth: Savannah Miley

Coaches: Diane Dezura, Shannon Joanisse and Georgina Wheatcroft


Zone 4 (Fraser River)

Team Cooper-Smith, Peace Arch/Port Moody/Royal City

Skip: Gemma Cooper-Smith

Third: Sydney Phillips

Second: Alexis Nguyen

Lead: Bryelle Wong

Coach: Ed Holland


Zone 5 (Vancouver-Coastal)

Team Bowles, Delta Thistle

Skip: Emily Bowles

Third: Taylor Bowles

Second: Morgan Bowles

Lead: Kate Bowles

Coach: Mike Bowles


Zone 6 (Vancouver Island-Central Coast)

Team Richards, Comox Valley

Skip: Gracelyn Richards

Third: Keelie Duncan

Second: Bryn Woloshyn

Lead: Carley Hardie

Coach: Adam Duncan, Darren Richards


Zone 7 (North West)

Team Oliveira, Hirsch Creek (Kitimat)

Skip: Camryn Oliveira

Third: Ally Feduniak

Second: Grace Feduniak

Lead: Kayla Abram

Fifth: Shylean Bogart

Coach: Dave Durrant