Victoria Royals’ forwards Brandon Cutler and Carson Miller each recorded a pair of goals and an assist to propel the team to a 7-2 win over the Moose Jaw Warriors on Saturday night.

The Royals’ Kaid Oliver and Brandon Cutler each scored shorthanded goals tonight. The last time Victoria scored two shorthanded goals in one game was on September 22, 2018 against the Prince George Cougars. The players to score those goals were Kaid Oliver and Tyler Lees.


99 Wins: In tonight’s contest, Royals’ bench boss Dan Price earned his 99th career WHL win as a head coach. Price recorded his 99th victory in his 192nd game as head coach with the team and has totalled a 99-77-11-5 record. The only head coach to earn over 100 wins in franchise history is Dave Lowry, who reached this milestone in 177 contests (100-64-5-8).


First Career Goal: Royals’ rookie Riley Gannon scored his first WHL career goal tonight. The rights to 2002-born forward were acquired in an off-season trade with the Saskatoon Blades that also brought forward Gary Haden to Victoria and sent defenceman Scott Walford to Saskatchewan.


Familiar Foes: Royals’ forward Brayden Tracey and goaltender Adam Evanoff faced their former team in tonight’s game. On January 9th, Victoria acquired both players and two draft picks from the Moose Jaw Warriors in exchange for Logan Doust, Nolan Jones, Brock Gould, and four draft picks.


Streaking Haden: Royals’ forward Gary Haden continued his offensive success tonight with his sixth goal in his last seven games. He has also added two assists during that span.


Home Stretch: Tonight’s contest was the last game of Victoria’s longest road trip of the season. Since leaving on January 21st, the Royals have played six games in a nine-day span and travelled over 3,500 km. The team will now embark on the final leg of their journey, a 1,763 km trek from Mosaic Place to the Save-On-Foods Memorial Centre in Victoria.



Royals – Brandon Cutler 2g-1a (Game Winner), Carson Miller 2g-1a, Gary Haden 1g-0a, Kaid Oliver 1g-0a, Riley Gannon 1g-0a, Tarun Fizer 0g-1a, Keanu Derungs 0g-1a, Matthew Smith 0g-1a.