The final two Mixed Doubles teams have booked their ticket to the BC Championship in Hope and now the field is complete.


The 2020 BC Mixed Doubles Curling Championship takes place at Hope Curling Club from Feb. 25 to Mar. 1, 2020.


The fast-paced version of the game features one male and one female curler and the game is played over eight ends (instead of the usual 10). Mixed Doubles curling debuted at the Pyeongchang Olympics and is due to be in Beijing in 2022.


The BC championship in Hope will be a 16-team competition. Playdowns over this past weekend in Hope saw the final two teams qualify, with 14 berths determined at earlier regional playdowns.


A local team from Hope made up of Debbie McKinney and Terry Foord took the first berth. The other team to qualify was the Victoria Curling Club team of Sasha Wilson and Duncan Silversides.


In this format each team has only six stones and one of those stones from each team is prepositioned on the centre line before every end of play. One player delivers the first and last stones of the end while the other player throws the second, third and fourth stones. If they choose to, the two players may swap positions from one end to the next. Both team members are also allowed to sweep.


The winner of this event will go on to represent BC at the national mixed doubles competition.


BC curlers Tyler Tardi and Dezaray Hawes have already qualified for nationals through the Curling Canada NextGen Mixed Doubles event that took place at the Canada Cup in Leduc, Alberta, during the last week of November.


The Canada Inns Canadian Mixed Doubles Curling Championship will take place in Portage La Prairie, Manitoba from Mar. 17-22, 2020.


For information about the event in Hope visit


Full rosters of teams:


Team Deane/Jensen – Tunnel Town

Connor Deane

Shawna Jensen


Team DenToom/Merchant – Vancouver Curling Club

Allison DenToom

David Marchant


Team Prinse/Gamache – Chilliwack/GEWC

Rhys Gamache

Stephanie Prinse


Team Gallaugher/Ward – Royal City

Robbie Gallaugher

Shannon Ward


Team Woo/Wenzek – Royal City

Courtney Woo

Daniel Wenzek


Team Prade/Pohlod – Delta Thistle

Patrick Prade

Layna Pohlod

Coach: Gregory Pohlod


Team Geiger – Abbotsford

Debbie Geiger

Dean Geiger


Team Little/Small – Nelson

Kristina Little

Nathan Small


Team Everest/Cseke – Kelowna

Elsie Everest

Adam Cseke


Team Sandwith/de Jong – Victoria

Carley Sandwith

Cameron de Jong


Team Jackson-Baier/Chester – Victoria

Steph Jackson Baier

Corey Chester


Team Wilson/Cowan – Victoria/Tunnel Town/Delta

Kayla Wilson

Troy Cowan


Team Croteau/King Simpson – Victoria/Campbell River

Connar Croteau

Karly King Simpson


Team Czirfusz/Cheung – Prince George

Eryn Czirfusz

Mattias Cheung

Coach: Doug Dalziel


Team McKinney/Foord – Hope

Debbie McKinney

Terry Foord


Team Silversides/Wilson – Victoria

Duncan Silversides

Sasha Wilson