Hockey Canada would like to recognize the 23 players named to Canada’s National Women’s Team following the recently cancelled 2020 IIHF Women’s World Championship that was to be held in Halifax and Truro, Nova Scotia, March 31-April 10.


The roster included:



  • Three players making their world championship debuts (Bach, Fillier, Thompson)
  • 18 players who won a bronze medal with Canada’s National Women’s Team at the 2019 IIHF Women’s World Championship in Espoo, Finland (Ambrose, Bourbonnais, Clark, Daoust, Fast, Gabel, Jenner, Lacasse, Larocque, Maschmeyer, Nurse, Poulin, Rattray, Saulnier, Spooner, Stacey, Turnbull, Zandee-Hart)
  • 20 players who competed in the Rivalry Series against the United States in December and February (Ambrose, Bach, Bourbonnais, Clark, Desbiens, Daoust, Fast, Gabel, Jenner, Lacasse, Larocque, Maschmeyer, Nurse, Poulin, Rougeau, Saulnier, Spooner, Stacey, Turnbull, Zandee-Hart)


Hockey Canada also announced head coach Troy Ryan (Spryfield, N.S.) was to be joined by assistant coaches Kori Cheverie (New Glasgow, N.S./Ryerson University, OUA), Doug Derraugh (Arnprior, Ont./Cornell University, ECAC) and Caroline Ouellette (Montreal/Concordia University, RSEQ). Brad Kirkwood (Calgary/University of Calgary, CW) was to serve as the team’s goaltending consultant.


Of the roster, Gina Kingsbury (Rouyn-Noranda, Que.), director of women’s national teams stated “in this unique season, we had the opportunity to closely evaluate the depth of our talent pool with our mini-camps and assess ourselves against the United States with the Rivalry Series. In addition to scouting our college players and through games with the Professional Women’s Hockey Players Association (PWHPA), we were confident we selected a team that combined chemistry and skill, youth and veteran leadership that would give us the best chance to compete for a gold medal.”