The Greater Victoria Sports Hall of Fame recently received the 1967 Kennedy Cup keeper trophy from the Victoria O’Keefe’s Soccer Club. The club’s historic win of the cup, which was inaugurated by the late U.S. president in 1961 as part of his physical fitness initiative, was contested between the champions of the PCSL and the amateur champions of Washington, Oregon, California and Mexico.

“It just clicked for us that year… it was a true team effort,” said O’Keefe’s goalkeeper Barry Sadler, who recorded 10 shutouts that season. Victoria beat Los Angeles FC 3-1 in the Kennedy Cup semifinals and then shocked the Mexico representative, which was a national select side, 2-1 in the Cup final before more than 6,000 fans in Vancouver. The Victoria O’Keefe’s Soccer Club was inducted into the Greater Victoria Sports Hall of Fame in 2017.

Victoria O’Keefe’s Soccer Club
Back Row (L to R) Tom Westwater, Joe Alexis, Peter Brett, Barry Sadler, Jim Schultz, Ike MacKay
Middle Row (L to R) Ron McClure, Ced Robb, Bill O’Connor, Jim Menzies, Bill Hamilton, Russ Ball, Marty Taylor, Bert Soutar, Jeff Sweet, Jim O’Connor, Ron Southern (Pres.), Len Anderson
Front Row (L to R) Frank Grealy (coach), Fred (Scotty) Magee (Mgr.), Don MacIntosh, George Paul (V-Capt.), Dave Stothard (Capt.), Dunc McCaig, Wilf Sadler, Harold Holroyd
Inserts: Lou Moro, Bob Smith, Bob Hazeldine Missing: Ken Pears