MLS Whitecaps vs Toronto BC Place May 31 2019 Copyright Simon Fearn

A pair of goals from Pablo Piatti led the way for Toronto FC to defeat Vancouver Whitecaps FC 3-0 as the MLS regular season continued on at BMO Field on Tuesday evening.

The loss snaps the ‘Caps three-match undefeated streak on the defending Eastern Conference’s home pitch.

Piatti opened the scoring with an outstanding strike from distance before the first half-hour, ending goalkeeper Thomas Hasal’s shutout streak to start his pro career at 239 minutes. Hasal was one of eight Canadians to make an appearance for the ‘Caps on the evening.

The ‘Caps had hard luck to concede the second goal in the 55th minute when Piatti converted from inside the box. The ball may have gone out of bounds in the setup to the score as Jozy Altidore dribbled along the left flank but referee David Gantar ruled for play to continue and not go to Video Review.

Nick DeLeon put the game on ice in the dying minutes for the final 3-0 scoreline.

The two sides meet again on Friday, August 21 as Whitecaps FC continue their three-match road trip. Kickoff at BMO Field is at 5 p.m. PT live on TSN and TSN Radio 1040.


VWFC Man of the Match: Andy Rose
Referee: David Gantar

Scoring Summary
27’ – TOR – Pablo Piatti (Jonathan Osorio)
55’ – TOR – Pablo Piatti (Jonathan Osorio, Jozy Altidore)
83’ – TOR – Nick DeLeon (Alejandro Pozuelo)

Possession: TOR 75.2% – VAN 24.8%
Shots: TOR 24 – VAN 4
Shots on Goal: TOR 8 – VAN 1
Saves: TOR 1 – VAN 5
Fouls: TOR 11 – VAN 6
Offsides: TOR 0 – VAN 1
Corners: TOR 9 – VAN 4

18’ – VAN – Lucas Cavallini
76’ – VAN – Russell Teibert
80’ – TOR – Auro

Toronto FC
16.Quentin Westberg; 96.Auro, 44.Omar González, 23.Chris Mavinga, 22.Richie Laryea (2.Justin Morrow 72’); 7.Pablo Piatti (31.Tsubasa Endoh 84’), 4.Michael Bradley ©, 8.Marco Delgado (18.Nick DeLeon 73’), 21.Jonathan Osorio; 10.Alejandro Pozuelo (27.Liam Fraser 84’); 17.Jozy Altidore (13.Patrick Mullins 57‘)

Substitutes not used
25.Alex Bono, 9.Erickson Gallardo, 14.Noble Okello, 26.Laurent Ciman

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
51.Thomas Hasal; 28.Jake Nerwinski, 4.Ranko Veselinović, 15.Andy Rose, 53.Ali Adnan; 11.Cristian Dájome (7.David Milinkovic 60‘), 17.Leonard Owusu, 31.Russell Teibert © (32.Patrick Metcalfe 81’), 3.Cristián Gutiérrez (14.Theo Bair 60’); 9.Lucas Cavallini (87.Tosaint Ricketts 81’), 29.Yordy Reyna (27.Ryan Raposo 67’)

Substitutes not used
1.Bryan Meredith, 13.Derek Cornelius, 20.Jasser Khmiri, 22.Érik Godoy