The BC Sports Hall of Fame is holding its 2020 Annual Summit virtually this Friday, Sept. 18, with online proceedings replacing original plans to convene for three days of activity designed to celebrate the 125th Anniversary of curling in British Columbia.

Curl BC’s CEO Scott Braley is one among six sports administrators who will be honoured at the event – with an Eric Whitehead Honoured Service Award.

Originally slated to take place in Kelowna in partnership with Curl BC and the Central Okanagan Sports Hall of Fame, the virtual Annual Summit will allow for people all across the Province to participate.

“The 125th Anniversary of curling is certainly a testament to the deep roots that the sport has in B.C. and across Canada and we’re delighted to add the BC Sports Hall of Fame Annual Summit to this curling milestone,” said Teri Palynchuk, Chair and Regional Governor of Curl BC.

The BC Sports Hall of Fame piloted its new Annual Summit concept last year in the City of New Westminster, partnering with the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame and BC Lacrosse.

“Community outreach throughout British Columbia is one of the most important strategic priorities of the BC Sports Hall of Fame,” said Tom Mayenknecht, the Chair of the BC Sports Hall. “It is of the upmost importance for us to be moving the Summit across the Province to engage the multiple communities that have produced so many inspiring athletes, coaches, administrators, media and others. This obviously became impossible with the COVID-19 pandemic his year, but we’re doing the next best thing: Holding the Summit virtually to allow us to engage participants from all over the Province – something we’re thrilled to be able to bring to the table, especially in our recognition of curling.”

The 2020 BC Sports Hall of Fame Annual Summit will honour the rich tradition of sport heritage in the province and will kick off with Cheryl Bernard, CEO, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame and Vancouver 2010 Olympian and curling medalist. Palynchuk will be speaking on behalf of the organization to discuss the importance of the 125th anniversary of curling in B.C. The Summit will also include the announcement of the winners of the Eric Whitehead Inspired Service Awards for 2020 – awards that recognize inspired service in and to sport in BC. The awards are being presented again this year in partnership with the BC Sports Hall of Fame Foundation.

The winners of this year’s awards are:

  • MJ Abbot of New Westminster, BC – former Executive Director of Canoe Kayak BC
  • Jane Blaine of Surrey, BC – Executive Director of BC Blind Sports and Association
  • Scott Braley of North Vancouver, BC – CEO of Curl BC
  • Brian McCalder of North Vancouver – CEO of BC Athletics
  • Wendy Pattenden of Surrey, BC – CEO of Canadian Sport Institute Pacific
  • Margo Ross of Victoria, BC – Former Executive Director of BC Sport Branch

“Our Annual Summit advances the three strategic pillars of the BC Sports Hall of Fame – celebrating Honoured Members, cultivating sustainable partnerships and sparking inspirational experiences – and we look forward to bringing together all three in this virtual summit,” said Nicholas Cartmell, Chief Executive of the BC Sports Hall of Fame.