Canada have been drawn into Group B of the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup where they will face USA, Martinique and a yet-to-be determined Caribbean nation across the first three matches of the competition. The 30th anniversary edition of the Concacaf Gold Cup runs 10 July to 1 August following a preliminary round from which either Haiti, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Bermuda or Barbados will advance to Group B.

It is expected to be an exciting yet busy summer of soccer for Canada Soccer’s Men’s National Team Program in 2021, with FIFA World Cup Qualifiers set to start during the international window from 22-30 March (two matches). FIFA World Cup Qualifiers will continue just ahead of the Concacaf Gold Cup, with four match dates from 31 May to 15 June. Canada is also scheduled to participate in the Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifiers with an eye to the summer Tokyo 2021 Olympic Games.

Canada are one of 13 nations that have already qualified for the Group Phase of the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup, doing so last year through Concacaf Nations League A. Joining Canada in the Group Phase are Costa Rica, Curaçao, El Salvador, Grenada, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Mexico, Panama, Suriname, USA, and Asian Confederation guest nation Qatar.

Canada and USA most recently split a two-match series in October and November 2019 during Concacaf Nations League A, with each side winning on their respective home grounds. Both Canada and USA are two of only four Concacaf nations that have finished top-six across all three of Concacaf`s major tournaments across the past three years (2017 and 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup as well as the 2019-20 Concacaf Nations League). Of note, the Canada win at BMO Field on 15 October 2019 was the Men`s National Team`s first international “A” win over USA in 34 years.

“It will be an exciting year for international soccer with both FIFA World Cup Qualifiers and the Concacaf Gold Cup across a couple of months,” said John Herdman, Canada Soccer’s Men’s National Team Head Coach. “We have to prepare and prioritize FIFA World Cup Qualifiers, but our players will certainly circle the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup group match against USA because our rivalry was really ignited during Concacaf Nations League in Toronto.”

From the Concacaf Gold Cup Group Stage, which commences 10 July 2021, the top-two nations from each of four groups will advance to the Knockout Stage featuring Quarterfinals, Semifinals and the Final.

The 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup Preliminary Round, which runs 2-6 July, will feature Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Cuba, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Montserrat, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and either Trinidad and Tobago or Antigua and Barbuda.

Group A
El Salvador
Preliminary winner 9 (Trinidad and Tobago, Montserrat, Cuba or French Guiana)

Group B

Preliminary winner 7 (Haiti, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Bermuda or Barbados)

Group C

Costa Rica
Preliminary winner 8 (Guatemala, Guyana, Guadeloupe, Bahamas)

Group D