A conceded goal and a red card within a three-minute stretch early into the second half spelled the difference as Vancouver Whitecaps FC fell 3-0 to San Jose Earthquakes on Wednesday evening.

The ‘Caps were off to a promising start at Earthquakes Stadium but the momentum swing proved too much to overcome on the evening as the visitors finished the game down two men.

Quakes winger Cristian Espinoza opened the scoring with a clever turn-and-shoot through traffic in the 50th minute then ‘Caps centre back Andy Rose was sent off following his second yellow card just minutes later.

Andrés Ríos doubled the Quakes lead with a tap-in in the 66th minute before the ‘Caps lost another centre back when Érik Godoy was given a straight red card on a foul versus Jackson Yueill.

The Quakes punctuated the evening with a late goal from Paul Marie to finish the scoring at 3-0.

The loss spoils the return of Leonard Owusu and Russell Teibert from injury, as well as goalkeeper Evan Bush’s VWFC debut. Bush recorded five saves in his first MLS appearance since September 21, 2019.


Referee: Allen Chapman

Scoring Summary
50′ – SJ – Cristian Espinoza (Nick Lima)
66′ – SJ – Andrés Ríos (Carlos Fierro, Tommy Thompson)
90’+3′ – SJ – Paul Marie (Tommy Thompson)

Possession: SJ 66.1% – VAN 33.9%
Shots: SJ 17 – VAN 7
Shots on Goal: SJ 8 – VAN 5
Saves: SJ 5 – VAN 5
Fouls: SJ 11 – VAN 13
Offsides: SJ 0 – VAN 0
Corners: SJ 4 – VAN 7

17′ – VAN – Andy Rose
45’+4′ – SJ – Florian Jungwirth
53′ – VAN – Andy Rose
60′ – VAN – Michael Baldisimo

53′ – VAN – Andy Rose
75′ – VAN – Érik Godoy

San Jose Earthquakes
18.James Marcinkowski; 24.Nick Lima (33.Paul Marie 85′), 23.Florian Jungwirth, 15.Tanner Beason, 22.Tommy Thompson; 93.Judson, 14.Jackson Yueill; 10.Cristian Espinoza (19.Siad Haji 88′), 8.Chris Wondolowski © (44.Cade Cowell 76′), 21.Carlos Fierro (35.Gilbert Fuentes 85′); 25.Andrés Ríos (6.Shea Salinas 77′)

Substitutes not used
17.Daniel Vega, 4.Oswaldo Alanis, 16.Jack Skahan, 96.Luis Felipe Fernandes

Vancouver Whitecaps FC
30.Evan Bush; 28.Jake Nerwinski (27.Ryan Raposo 72′), 22.Érik Godoy, 15.Andy Rose, 53.Ali Adnan; 11.Cristian Dájome, 17.Leonard Owusu, 55.Michael Baldisimo (32.Patrick Metcalfe 73′), 31.Russell Teibert © (7.David Milinković HT); 12.Fredy Montero (14.Theo Bair 81′), 87.Tosaint Ricketts (4.Ranko Veselinović 55′)

Substitutes not used
1.Bryan Meredith, 60.Isaac Boehmer, 13.Derek Cornelius, 62.Damiano Pecile