CBC Sports and the International Swimming League (ISL) today announced a new partnership agreement to provide broadcast and streaming coverage of the ISL 2020 regular season, semi-finals and final. CBC Sports will stream every match on cbcsports.ca and the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices, and provide broadcast coverage of select events on Road to the Olympic Games on CBC and the free CBC Gem streaming service. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the entire 2020 season will be held in Budapest, Hungary and will take place over a condensed six-week schedule, from October 16 – November 22. This year, 10 teams from around the world will battle for the championship title, including the recently announced Tokyo Frog Kings, and the Toronto Titans who will be representing Canada for the first time.


“We’re thrilled to be bringing this exciting competition to audiences across Canada who will be able to cheer on their favourite athletes as they compete against the best swimmers in the world,” said Chris Wilson, Executive Director, Sports & Olympics, CBC. “With less than a year until the Tokyo Olympic Games, the new Canadian team allows us to further showcase the incredible athletes representing our country and offers fans more opportunities to connect with the sport.”


The new teams join the original eight from the inaugural season: Aqua Centurions, Cali Condors, DC Trident, Energy Standard Paris, LA Current, London Roar, NY Breakers, and Team Iron. The competition features 10 group stage matches, before moving into two semi-finals and culminating in the final on November 21 and 22. All of the Toronto Titans matches, semi-finals and the final will be broadcast on CBC as part of Road to the Olympic Games. The network’s coverage will be hosted by Scott Russell and Andi Petrillo who will be joined by Olympic swimmer Brittany MacLean as studio analyst.


Hubert Montcoudiol, Head of Commercial Operations, ISL said: “We are extremely pleased to add CBC to our Season 2 broadcast partners and excited for all our champions, but especially the athletes of Toronto Titans to showcase their talent to their home audience. This partnership enables us to further deliver our Canadian fans, the unparalleled action, emotion, entertainment and excitement of a swimming event where each race is disputed as a championship final!”


The meet dates are as follows. Visit cbcsports.ca for more information on start times.

  • October 16 – 17: Energy Standard, Cali Condors, New York Breakers, LA Current

  • October 18 – 19: London Roar, DC Trident, Aqua Centurions, Team Iron

  • October 24 – 25: Aqua Centurions, Tokyo Frog Kings, LA Current, Toronto Titans

  • October 26 – 27: DC Trident, Team Iron, Cali Condors, New York Breakers

  • October 30 – 31: London Roar, DC Trident, LA Current, Tokyo Frog Kings

  • November 1 – 2: Energy Standard, Aqua Centurions, New York Breakers, Toronto Titans

  • November 5 – 6: London Roar, Tokyo Frog Kings, Cali Condors, New York Breakers

  • November 5 – 6: Energy Standard, DC Trident, Toronto Titans, Team Iron

  • November 9 – 10: Energy Standard, Team Iron, Tokyo Frog Kings, Toronto Titans

  • November 9 – 10: London Roar, Cali Condors, LA Current, Aqua Centurions

  • November 14 – 15: SEMI-FINAL

  • November 14 – 15: SEMI-FINAL

  • November 21 – 22: FINAL


Leading the Toronto Titans in their debut season are two of Canada’s most successful swimmers: reigning World Champion and Olympic bronze medallist Kylie Masse is team captain; and 2007 World Champion and Olympic bronze medallist Brent Hayden is vice-captain. Canadians swimming alongside Masse and Hayden for the Titans include: Mack Darragh; Yuri Kisil; Finlay Knox; Cole Pratt; Elijah Wall; Tess Cieplucha; Emily Overholt; Rebecca Smith; and Kelsey Wog.


Canada will be represented by athletes on eight of the 10 teams in the 2020 ISL season. Below is the remaining list of Canadian swimmers and their respective ISL teams:


Mary-Sophie Harvey – Energy Standard


Haley Black – Aqua Centurion


Bailey Andison – DC Trident


Markus Thormeyer – Tokyo Frog Kings


Danica Ludlow – Team Iron


Sydney Pickrem – London Roar

Kierra Smith – LA Current