Victoria Royals. Photo by Nathanael Laranjeiras ISN

Teams from Pool B and Pool C had the opportunity to obtain the first-overall selection in the 2021 WHL Prospects Draft, while WHL Division Champions from Pool A had the opportunity to move up and select sixth overall. The selection process for the 2021 WHL Prospects Draft Lottery was administered by Kevin Jenkin from KPMG.

Pool A teams included WHL Division Champions from 2020-21 – the Brandon Wheat Kings, Edmonton Oil Kings, Everett Silvertips, and Kamloops Blazers.

Pool C teams included the lowest place Club from each of the B.C., Central and U.S. Divisions, and the two lowest place Clubs from the East Division for a total of five teams – the Moose Jaw Warriors, Red Deer Rebels, Swift Current Broncos, Tri-City Americans, and Victoria Royals.

Pool B teams included the Calgary Hitmen, Kelowna Rockets, Lethbridge Hurricanes, Medicine Hat Tigers, Portland Winterhawks, Prince Albert Raiders, Prince George Cougars, Regina Pats, Saskatoon Blades, Seattle Thunderbirds, Spokane Chiefs, Vancouver Giants, and Winnipeg ICE.

The order of selection for the second round and all other rounds will be the inverse order of final 2020-21 WHL Regular Season standings.


*traded picks are not reflected

  1. Victoria Royals
  2. Red Deer Rebels
  3. Swift Current Broncos
  4. Tri-City Americans
  5. Moose Jaw Warriors
  6. Spokane Chiefs
  7. Lethbridge Hurricanes
  8. Regina Pats
  9. Seattle Thunderbirds
  10. Prince Albert Raiders
  11. Prince George Cougars
  12. Vancouver Giants
  13. Calgary Hitmen
  14. Portland Winterhawks
  15. Medicine Hat Tigers
  16. Kelowna Rockets
  17. Saskatoon Blades
  18. Winnipeg ICE
  19. Brandon Wheat Kings
  20. Kamloops Blazers
  21. Everett Silvertips
  22. Edmonton Oil Kings

Players eligible for the 2021 WHL Prospects Draft will be 2006-born players who reside in Alberta, B.C., Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Northwest Territories, Yukon, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.