The Western Hockey League announced today the lottery results to determine the order of selection for WHL Clubs in the 2021 CHL Import Draft, scheduled to take place Wednesday, June 30 at 11 a.m. ET.


Due to the unique schedule of games during the 2020-21 WHL Regular Season, a lottery was conducted to determine the order of selection for WHL Clubs in the 2021 CHL Import Draft. All 22 WHL Clubs participated and had equal opportunity to win the lottery.


WHL Clubs Order of Selection – 2021 CHL Import Draft


  1. Everett Silvertips
  2. Swift Current Broncos
  3. Vancouver Giants
  4. Lethbridge Hurricanes
  5. Red Deer Rebels
  6. Spokane Chiefs
  7. Saskatoon Blades
  8. Prince George Cougars
  9. Portland Winterhawks
  10. Brandon Wheat Kings
  11. Regina Pats
  12. Calgary Hitmen
  13. Kamloops Blazers
  14. Seattle Thunderbirds
  15. Kelowna Rockets
  16. Edmonton Oil Kings
  17. Moose Jaw Warriors
  18. Prince Albert Raiders
  19. Medicine Hat Tigers
  20. Tri-City Americans
  21. Winnipeg ICE
  22. Victoria Royals



The two-round draft will take place online with the order of selection rotating through each of the CHL’s three leagues. The CHL Import Draft will follow a snake format. The Club designated to select first overall in the first round will then select last in the second round.


Each team in the CHL is permitted to dress and play a maximum of two import players each season who are selected annually through the CHL Import Draft process. The deadline for teams to submit their Import player protected list for the 2021-22 season is Monday, June 28 at 1 p.m. ET, which will then determine how many of the maximum 120 selections will be made in the 2021 CHL Import Draft.


The complete order of selection for the 2021 CHL Import Draft, including Clubs from the Ontario Hockey League and Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, will be released at a later date by the CHL.