On Saturday, January 29, the BC Junior A Lacrosse League held the 2022 Junior Entry Draft.  Graduating U16 lacrosse players across the Province (previously called Midgets), not playing in catchments with Junior A teams, were eligible for selection by one of the eight teams that make up the BCJALL.  Several players were selected from the Island.


The Nanaimo Junior A Timbermen selected Josh Adey (Saanich Minor Lacrosse) 15th overall, Adam Wong (Saanich) at 20th, Reid Johnson (Peninsula) at 29th, Brayden Upshon (Peninsula) at 39th, and Colton Hauser (Peninsula) at 42nd.


The Victoria Junior A Shamrocks selected Adam Bailey (Juan de Fuca Minor Lacrosse) 5th overall, Colton Gron (Cowichan) at 23rd, Graham Brown (Peninsula) at 26th, Olivier Laplante (Comox) at 36th, and Matthew Laponkonstantakis (Peninsula) at 45th.

Other Island players selected include Dorian Connolley (Saanich Minor Lacrosse), 4th overall, going to Coquitlam, Benjamin Pawluk (Juan de Fuca), going to New Westminster at 16th overall, Greysen Thompson (Saanich), going to Coquitlam at 21st, Cooper Board (Peninsula) to Langley at 31st, and Noah Dibattista (Peninsula) going to Delta at 33rd overall.


Schedules for this season have not yet been released but are expected soon.

The full list of drafted players can be found here.