The Town of Okotoks will be a hub of hockey activity as the host community of the 2022 Esso Cup and TELUS Cup, with the top men’s and women’s U18 club teams from across Canada converging on Central Alberta to compete for a pair of national championships, May 16-22.


In the Esso Cup, five regional champions will join the host, Prince Albert Bears for Canada’s National Women’s U18 Club Championship. Competing teams include the Fraser Valley Rush (Pacific), Durham West Lightning (Ontario), Northern Selects (Atlantic), Notre Dame Hounds (West), and Remparts du Richelieu (Quebec).


“We cannot wait to drop the puck at two Hockey Canada national championships in Okotoks this week,” said Dean McIntosh, vice-president of events and properties for Hockey Canada. “For the first time, fans will be able to experience the Esso Cup and TELUS Cup in one centralized location, bringing the excitement of Canada’s U18 Club Championships to Foothills County.


“On May 22 we will crown champions at both events for the first time since 2019, and are thrilled that Canadian hockey fans can watch the best U18 club teams in the country compete for a national championship once again.”


The TELUS Cup, Canada’s National Men’s U18 Club Championship, will see the host Sydney Rush take on five regional champions including the Cantonniers de Magog (Quebec), Moncton Flyers (Atlantic), Mississauga Reps (Central), Notre Dame Hounds (West) and Vancouver NE Chiefs (Pacific).


“To have the Esso Cup and TELUS Cup in Okotoks has created a buzz around town and the entire community is excited to have these events in our own backyard,” said Geoff Stewart, President of Okotoks Minor Hockey Association. “Usually, our association slows down at this time of year, and it has been incredible to see and hear the local response from not only the association, but the community. The passion and love of the game in Okotoks is truly unique and having the opportunity to host both tournaments has not been taken for granted.”

Opening ceremonies will take place prior to the evening games on May 16, while the presentation of the tournament awards as well as both the regional and national TELUS and Esso scholarships will be made at the conclusion of the preliminary round.


The tournaments conclude May 22 with Championship Sunday broadcast nationally on TSN and RDS, Hockey Canada’s official broadcast partners, starting with the Esso Cup finale at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT, and the TELUS Cup championship game at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

Fans looking to attend the national U18 club championships, supported by Tourism Calgary, can purchase their tickets now at Event packages begin at $70 plus fees, while single-game tickets are available for as low as $10 for preliminary-round games.