25-player roster includes one Olympian, five players with previous experience in Davos

Hockey Canada has announced the 25 players who have been named to Canada’s National Men’s Team for the 2023 Spengler Cup, set for Dec. 26-31 in Davos, Switzerland.

Three goaltenders, nine defencemen and 13 forwards were selected by co-general managers Brad Pascall (Coquitlam, BC/Calgary, NHL) and Joe Thornton (St. Thomas, ON), and assistant general manager Hnat Domenichelli (Edmonton, AB/HC Lugano, NL), with support from Scott Salmond (Creston, BC), senior vice-president of high performance and hockey operations. Head coach Bruce Boudreau (Toronto, ON/Niagara, OHL) and assistant coaches Larry Mitchell (Burlington, ON/EHC Kloten, NL), Jim Playfair (Fort St. James, BC/Prince George, WHL) and Jeff Tomlinson (Winnipeg, MB/EHC Kloten, NL) also provided input.

“We are proud to unveil the 25 players who will wear the Maple Leaf at this year’s Spengler Cup. This is a unique and exciting tournament, and we know these players will embrace the opportunity to compete for a historic championship,” Thornton said. “This is a skilled group that brings a variety of experience from the professional and international levels, and we believe this group will come together quickly and represent Canada with pride in Davos.”

The roster features five players (Ang, Beaudin, DiDomenico, Jooris, Sceviour) who previously played for Team Canada at the Spengler Cup, as well as six who wore the Maple Leaf with Canada’s National Junior Team at the IIHF World Junior Championship (Beaulieu, DiDomenico, Heatherington, Milic, Quenneville, Smith). It also includes one player who suited up at the 2022 Olympic Winter Games (Knight) and one who won a gold medal at the 2021 IIHF World Championship (Beaudin).

Canada is grouped with host HC Davos and Frölunda HC for the preliminary round and will open the 2023 Spengler Cup against Frölunda HC on Dec. 26 at 2:15 p.m. ET/11:15 a.m. PT. Preliminary-round action wraps up on Dec. 28, with the championship game set for Dec. 31 at 6:10 a.m. ET/3:10 a.m. PT. TSN, Hockey Canada’s official broadcast partner, will broadcast all 11 tournament games; please check local listings for details.