Photos courtesy of Langley Events Centre from 2023 Junior Boys Basketball Invitational Tournament

Victoria’s Oak Bay Bays hold the top seed for the 32-team Junior Boys Basketball
Invitational Tournament.

The four-day event kicks off on February 24 and runs through February 27 with all 80
games being played at Langley Events Centre. The tournament is being co-hosted by
R.E. Mountain and Brookswood. Joining the Vancouver Island champions as a top seed at the 54th edition of the tournament are the Vancouver College Fighting Irish, the St. Patrick Celtics and the L.A. Matheson Mustangs, who are seeds No. 2-4, respectively. The Mustangs are from Surrey while the other two are Vancouver schools.

St. Patrick needed to play a wild-card game to earn their spot into the field as they secured one of the two at-large bids. The Celtics defeated the M.E.I. Eagles while the other berth went to Surrey’s Tamanawis Wildcats, who won over the Westsyde Whundas.

Photos courtesy of Langley Events Centre from 2023 Junior Boys Basketball Invitational Tournament

The rest of the field includes (in alphabetical order): Abbotsford Christian Knights (Abbotsford), Brentwood College (Mill Bay), Brookswood Bobcats (Langley), Burnaby
Mountain Lions (Burnaby), Charles Hays Rainmakers (Prince Rupert), Collingwood
Cavaliers (West Vancouver), Duchess Park Condors (Prince George), Enver Creek
Cougars (Surrey), Fernie Falcons (Fernie), Fleetwood Park Dragons (Surrey), G.W.
Graham Grizzlies (Chilliwack), Handsworth Royals (North Vancouver), Kalamalka
Lakers (Coldstream), Kelowna Owls (Kelowna), Killarney Cougars (Vancouver), Mark R.
Isfeld Ice (Courtenay), New Westminster Hyacks (New Westminster), Pacific Academy
Breakers (Surrey), R.E. Mountain Eagles (Langley), Richmond Colts (Richmond), Rick
Hansen Hurricanes (Abbotsford), Rutland Voodoos (Kelowna), Shas Ti Kelly Road
Grizzlies (Prince George), St. Michaels University School Blue Jags (Victoria), South
Kamloops Titans (Kamloops), Terry Fox Ravens (Port Coquitlam) and the Vancouver
Technical Talismen (Vancouver).

The action gets underway at 8:30am on Saturday (February 24) with each of the teams
playing twice on that first day. The champion will be crowned Tuesday night (February
27) with the last two teams remaining tipping off at 7:00pm.
For those unable to attend, all 80 games will be available to stream via pay-per-view at