Diego Maffia of the Victoria Vikes

Diego Maffia of the Victoria Vikes has been named the winner of the Mike Moser Memorial Trophy as the most valuable player in U SPORTS men’s basketball. The announcement was made on Thursday night at the All-Canadian Award Ceremony in Quebec City, site of the 2024 championship tournament.

Other major award winners include Xavier Spencer of Carleton, who won the Dr. Peter Mullins Trophy as rookie of the year; Alexander Dewar of Saskatchewan, who took home the Ken Shields award (student-athlete community service); Luka Syllas of Queen’s, who was named the defensive player of the year; and Craig Beaucamp of Victoria, who won the Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Award as the Fox40 Coach of the Year.

The 2024 U SPORTS Men’s Final 8 gets underway on Friday at the PEPS-Amphithéatre Desjardins on the Laval University campus. Play continues through to the gold medal game, which is set for 6 p.m. on Sunday.

Mike Moser Memorial Trophy (most valuable player) – Diego Maffia, Victoria

Diego Maffia has been named the U SPORTS player of the year, after being a nominee for the award last year.

Playing in 17 games for the Vikes this season and starting all of them, Maffia led all players in Canada West and U SPORTS with a 26.7 points per game average during the 2023-24 regular season. Not only leading the Vikes in points, Maffia was also a huge influence on the Vikes’ point-scoring in general, leading the team with a 5.2 assist per game average, which ranked fourth in the conference.

Maffia is the third Vike to win national player of the year honours, following the late Eli Pasquale in 1984 and Eric Hinrichsen, who took the award in 1997 and 1999.

Other nominees: Callum Baker (Toronto), Kevin Civil (UQAM), Malcolm Christie (Dalhousie).

Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Award (Fox 40 Coach of the Year) – Craig Beaucamp, Victoria

Craig Beaucamp has earned the 2023-24 Coach of the Year award after leading his Vikes squad to the best record in the conference (17-3) and the program’s third-straight 17-win Canada West season. Claiming the top seed for the Canada West playoff tournament, Beaucamp has put his team in prime position to win for their third straight Canada West title, which they did two weekends ago.

Consistently ranked as the No. 1 or No. 2 team in U SPORTS throughout the season, Victoria ranked first in both U SPORTS and Canada West with a 92.0 points per game scoring average. Also a top-10 team on defence, the Vikes ranked fourth in Canada West and 10th in U SPORTS with a 73.3 points allowed per game mark.

Beaucamp collects the national award for the first time in his career. He is the second UVic coach to win the national honour, following the legendary Ken Sheilds, who won the award with Victoria in 1979, 1982 and 1983.

Other nominees: Jonah Taussig (Saint Marys), Rastko Popovic (Concordia), Steph Barrie (Queen’s).