This past week Volleyball Canada submitted its long list of the players (30) to the FIVB for the upcoming Volleyball Nations League, which begins for Canada, May 31 in Argentina.


The list has a significant Trinity Western Spartan contingent with 10 former, current, or future Spartans making the list of thirty players. Former Spartans include Olympians Steven Marshall (Abbotsford, B.C.) and Daniel Jansen Vandoorn (Langley, B.C.), as well as Lucas Van Berkel (Edmonton), Ryan Sclater (Port Coquitlam, B.C.), Blake Scheerhoorn (Belleville, Ont.), and Adam Schriemer (Winnipeg). Current Spartans include: Eric Loeppky (Steinbach, Man.), Derek Epp (Saskatoon), and Brodie Hofer (Langley, B.C.). The list also includes incoming TWU freshman Mathias Elser (Calgary).


“I’m so proud of our current and former Spartan men’s volleyball athletes and their selection to represent Canada this summer at the various competitions throughout the summer.  Knowing these young men and how hard they have all worked its super exciting to see them getting the ultimate reward for their tireless efforts,” commented TWU men’s volleyball head coach Ben Josephson. “So many of these players have had the talent and the drive to play for Canada since the day I met them.  We at TWU are humbled and honoured that they choose to spend their university volleyball years with us at Langley as they developed their game and pursue their dreams of helping Canada to the Olympic Games.”


The team, headed by coach Glenn Hoag, will be in Ottawa, June 7, 8 and 9 as part of VNL pool play at The Arena at TD Place. The travelling roster will be announced at a later date.


Also announced, the men’s B team will compete at the 2019 NORCECA Pan Am Cup in Guadalajara, Mexico, from June 14 to 22, under the guidance of head coach John Barrett. Additionally, the following list includes some members of the Junior team that will compete at the FIVB U21 World Championships, July 18 to 27, 2019.

VNL long list roster (shirt number, name and hometown)
1. TJ Sanders, London, ON
2. Gordon Perrin, Creston, BC (Team Captain)
3. Steven Marshall, Abbotsford, BC
4. Nicholas Hoag, Sherbrooke, QC
5. Deanan Gyimah, Scarborough, ON*
6. Justin Duff, Winnipeg, MB
7. Stephen Maar, Aurora, ON
8. Jay Blankenau, Sherwood Park, AB
9. Jason DeRocco, Winnipeg, MB
10. Sharone Vernon-Evans, Scarborough, ON
11. Daniel Jansen Vandoorn, Langley, BC
12. Lucas VanBerkel, Edmonton, AB
13. Byron Keturakis, Surrey, BC*
14. Eric Loeppky, Steinbach, MB
15. Jeremy Davies, Calgary, AB
16. Ryan Sclater, Port Coquitlam, BC
17. Graham Vigrass, Calgary, AB
18. Fynnian McCarthy, Lake Country, BC
19. Blair Bann, Edmonton, AB
20. Arthur Szwarc, Toronto, ON
21. Brett Walsh, Calgary, AB
22. Blake Scheerhoorn, Belleville, ON
23. Danny Demyanenko, Toronto, ON
24. Adam Schriemer, Winnipeg, MB
25. Brandon Koppers, Georgetown, ON
26. Derek Epp, Saskatoon, SK*
27. Casey Schouten, Winnipeg, MB*
28. Xander Ketrzynski, Toronto, ON
29. Mathias Elser, Calgary, AB
30. Brodie Hofer, Langley, BC

*Athletes selected to represent Canada on the B team.
The following are also named to the B team:

Craig Ireland, Beamsville, ON
Jared Jarvis, Vaughn, ON
Dylan Mortensen, Swift Current, SK
Jordan McConkey, Stratford, ON
Andre Foreman, London, ON