The 2019 Junior and CanAmMex teams have been selected following the Rowing Canada Aviron (RCA) Junior Selection Camp held June 28 to 30 in Victoria, BC.

Sixteen athletes will represent Canada at the World Rowing Junior Championships in Tokyo, Japan, from August 7 to 11. Taking place at the new Sea Forest Waterway, this competition will also serve as a test event for the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The rowers selected to compete at the CanAmMex Regatta will take part in a training camp from July 6 to 12 before the regatta takes place July 13 to 14 in Sarasota, Florida, USA.

“Prior to our Junior Selection Camp, these athletes were identified as potential National Team athletes through their performances at on-water qualification events and ergometer testing,” said Adam Parfitt, RCA National Team Operations Director. “They have worked hard to get to this point, and we are excited for our NextGen high performance rowers to get the opportunity to compete for Canada at the international level.”

Last week, RCA launched the 2019 #RCANextGen fundraising campaign to reduce fees associated with international competition. This campaign aims to ensure that athletes do not face financial barriers to represent Canada on the world stage.

To make a contribution and help Canada’s Junior, CanAmMex, U23, U21 and Pan Am rowers focus on giving their all on the water, please visit

Junior World Championship Team

CanAmMex Team

Men’s Team
Lucas CeliaSt. Catharines Rowing Club
Matthew CormieSt. Michaels University School
Emerson CrickNorth Star Rowing Club
Owen DarlingSouth Niagara Rowing Club
Aidan Della SiegaGorge Narrows Rowing Club
Aidan HembruffOttawa Rowing Club
Liam HodginsSt. Michaels University School
Ryan HollandSt. Catharines Rowing Club
David LawSouth Niagara Rowing Club
Quinn TorokDelta Deas Rowing Club
Campbell VeldSouth Niagara Rowing Club
Joseph WhitePeterborough Rowing Club
Women’s Team
Katherine BreenDon Rowing Club
Sophie Byrne-AtkinsVancouver Rowing Club
Carolyn CulenHalifax Rowing Club
Georgia DouvilleCrofton House Rowing Club
Isabel FrolickSt. Catharines Rowing Club
Bianca HillArgonaut Rowing Club
Caitlin LawrenceDelta Deas Rowing Club
Elisa LuoCrofton House Rowing Club
Seyene OordSouth Niagara Rowing Club
Ehren PatersonDeep Cove Rowing Club
Rachel WeberOttawa Rowing Club
Alexandra WileySt. Catharines Rowing Club
Georgia GreenwoodDon Rowing Club
Clare CunninghamClaremont Sports Institute
Stacy MitchellSalt Spring Island Rowing Club
Samantha HeronRCA HUB Coach – UVIC
Michael BraithwaiteBrentwood College Rowing Club
Simon Bouchard-RobertClub d’aviron de Sherbrooke
Men’s Coxed Four
Julian BlackSt. George’s Rowing Club
Dane HalkiwUpper Canada College Rowing Club
Basil Jancso-SzaboArgonaut Rowing Club
Samuel Weinstein ZimbelArgonaut Rowing Club
Eden Cooper-Squires (coxswain)Argonaut Rowing Club
Men’s Quad
Stephen HarrisGuelph Rowing Club
Adam KrolDon Rowing Club
Newton SeawrightDon Rowing Club
William SimpsonArgonaut Rowing Club
Women’s Quad
Lucy BlackRidley College
Claire EllisonHalifax Rowing Club
Aida Lissel-DeCorbySaskatoon Rowing Club
Maya MeschkuleitDon Rowing Club
Women’s Double
Lily JedlicRegina Rowing Club
Hailey MercuriSt. Catharines Rowing Club
Women’s Single
Abigail DentWinnipeg Rowing Club
Pat CodyRowing Nova Scotia
Scott SwinkelsRCA HUB Coach – UVIC