BC Secondary School Volleyball Provincial Championships

Seventy-two teams are set to begin their quest for one of four provincial banners up for grabs this week at Langley Event Centre.

The BC Secondary School Volleyball Provincial Championships get underway on November 27 and run through November 30 on 10 courts at Langley Events Centre, with Surrey’s Salish Secondary serving as a secondary venue for seven matches.

Boys Championships

Fraser Valley teams have both the top seeds in the two respective tiers as the region looks to continue their domination of the sport.

In the AA field, Langley Christian enters as the tournament No. 1, looking for their third championship in the past four years. Joining the Lightning in the top pool are the second seed MEI Eagles (Abbotsford) and No. 3 Abbotsford Christian Knights as well as the George Elliot Coyotes (Lake Country).

Langley Christian, MEI and Abbotsford Christian are all from the Eastern Valley while the Coyotes come in as the top seed from Okanagan-Thompson. Those four make up Pool A.

Pool B features Prince George’s College Heights Cougars (North Central 1), Pacific Academy Breakers (South Fraser 1), Pacific Christian Pacers (Vancouver Island 1) and the Langley Fundamental Titans (Eastern Valley 4).

Those three Eastern Valley teams have combined to win 15 of the past 17 AA provincial championships.

Pool C has Richmond’s McRoberts Strikers (South Fraser 2), Prince George’s Duchess Park Condors (North Central 2), Surrey Christian Falcons (South Fraser 3) and St. Michaels University School Blue Jags (Vancouver Island 2).

And Pool D has the Sir Charles Tupper Tigers (Vancouver Sea-to-Sky 1), Burnaby’s Alpha Aztecs (Fraser North 1), Vernon’s WL Seaton Sonics (Okanagan-Thompson 2) and Creston’s Prince Charles Bulldogs (Kootenay 1).

For the AAA draw, Surrey’s Earl Marriott Mariners (South Fraser 1) are joined by the Kelowna Owls (Okanagan-Thompson 1) and a pair of Vancouver Island squads, Victoria’s Claremont Spartans (Vancouver Island 1) and the Oak Bay Bays (Vancouver Island 2) in Pool E.

The top two Vancouver Sea-to-Sky seeds, Vancouver’s Eric Hamber Griffins and North Vancouver’s Argyle Pipers. They are joined by Kelowna’s Okanagan Mission Huskies (Okanagan-Thompson 2) and Port Coquitlam’s Riverside Rapids (Fraser North 1) to make up Pool F.

Pool G sees Abbotsford’s Yale Lions (Eastern Valley 1), West Kelowna’s Mount Boucherie Bears (Okanagan-Thompson 3) and Surrey’s Fleetwood Park Dragons (South Fraser 2) and Richmond’s Steveston-London Sharks (South Fraser 3).


Surrey’s Fraser Heights FireHawks (South Fraser 4), Delta’s Seaquam Seahawks (South Fraser 6), Burnaby Central Wildcats (Fraser North 2) and Surrey’s Semiahmoo Totems (South Fraser 6) are Pool H.

And Pool K features Cranbrook’s Mount Baker Wild (Kootenay 1), the Delta Pacers (South Fraser 7), Victoria’s Reynolds Roadrunners (Vancouver Island 3) and the Penticton Lakers (Okanagan-Thompson 4) round out the field.

Girls Championships

On the girls side, the top seeds for each tier are the Little Flower Academy Angels for the AAA draw and the Kelowna Owls on the AAAA side.

Kelowna looks for a second consecutive championship while Little Flower Academy aims for a podium finish after placing fourth in 2018.

Little Flower Academy (Vancouver Sea-to-Sky 1) is joined by Richmond’s McRoberts Strikers (South Fraser 1), South Kamloops Titans (Wildcard) and Chilliwack’s GW Graham Grizzlies (Eastern Valley 1) in Pool A.

Pool B features Campbell River’s Carihi Tyees (Vancouver Island 1), Vancouver’s Crofton House Falcons (Vancouver Sea-to-Sky 2), Saanichton’s Stelly’s Stingers (Vancouver Island 2) and Steveston’s McMath Wildcats (South Fraser 2).

In Pool C, the teams are the Dawson Creek Penguins (North Central 1), the Okanagan Mission Huskies (Okanagan Thompson 2), the Prince George Polars (Wildcard) and the Salish Wolves (Host).

And Vernon’s WL Seaton Sonics (Okanagan-Thompson 1), Prince George’s Duchess Park Condors (North Central 2), Vernon Panthers (Wildcard) and Prince Rupert’s Charles Hays Rainmakers (Northwest 1) make up Pool D.

Kelowna (Okanagan-Thompson 1) is joined in Pool A by Saanich’s Claremont Spartans (Vancouver Island 2), Delta’ Seaquam Seahawks (South Fraser 4) and Fort St. John’s North Peace Grizzlies (North Central 1).

Pool B features Vancouver’s Lord Byng Grey Ghosts (Vancouver Sea-to-Sky 1), the Burnaby Central Wildcats (Fraser North 1), Nanaimo’s Dover Bay Dolphins (Vancouver Island 3) and the Sardis Falcons (Eastern Valley 2).

Pool D consists of Surrey’s Semiahmoo Totems (South Fraser 1), Victoria’s Oak Bay Breakers (Vancouver Island 1) and a pair of Port Coquitlam squads, the Riverside Rapids (Fraser North 2) and Terry Fox Ravens (Wildcard).

And Pool E has North Vancouver’s Handsworth Royals (Vancouver Sea-to-Sky 2), Surrey’s Elgin Park Orcas (South Fraser 2), South Delta Sun Devils (Wildcard) and West Kelowna’s Mount Boucherie Bears (Okanagan-Thompson 2).