Thursday, June 25, 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT

2020 Lieutenant Governor Athletic Awards Presented by Makadiff SPORTS, honouring the Athletes of the Year for the 2019-20 season.

The 2020 nominees for U SPORTS Male Athlete of the Year are hockey players Taran Kozun from the Saskatchewan Huskies and David Thomson of the Toronto Varsity Blues, Montreal Carabins soccer player Aboubacar Sissoko, and Dalhousie Tigers basketball player Keevan Veinot.

On the women’s side, the finalists for the U SPORTS Female Athlete of the Year are Manitoba Bisons swimmer Kelsey Wog, Toronto Varsity Blues cross country runner and track and field athlete Lucia Stafford, Laval Rouge et Or rugby player Fabiola Forteza and UPEI Panthers basketball player Jenna Mae Ellsworth.

Each of the eight nominees have been chosen to represent their respective conferences – Canada West (CW), Ontario University Athletics (OUA), Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec (RSEQ) and Atlantic University Sport (AUS) – as Athletes of the Year or national finalists.

Celebrating their 28th year, the awards are championed once again by His Honour Doug Mitchell and Her Honour, the Honourable Lois Mitchell, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta.

The winners will be determined by a combined vote of the Canadian Athletic Foundation – a not-for-profit board, chaired by His Honour Doug Mitchell – and the public on Voting opens on June 12 and closes on June 21, with results announced on June 25 at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT.

Leading up to the announcement, U SPORTS is set to run a national campaign, including special features and the second annual leadership development seminar in virtual format.