Dr. Bonnie Henry
BC Hockey has announced the 2019- 2020 award winners, who are deserving volunteers and hockey influencers from across BC and Yukon. They are recognized in various categories for their contribution and dedication to hockey. Traditionally these winners are presented with their award at the Annual Congress, however the 2020 in-person event was cancelled due to COVID-19 restrictions however their impact on hockey is no less deserving.
2019-2020 WINNER: Dr. Bonnie Henry (Victoria)
Dr. Bonnie Henry
Dr. Bonnie Henry
 Dr. Henry added “I appreciate the work BC Hockey has done to adapt to the COVID-19 challenges and provide opportunities for sport participation, especially for young people during this pandemic.”
BC Hockey, member partner of Hockey Canada, serves nearly 60,000 participants, over 130 associations, leagues and districts in British Columbia and Yukon continues to work in conjunction with viaSport and the Provincial Health Authority to provide a safe environment for all hockey participants.
2019-2020 WINNER: Nak’azdli Whut’enFirst Nation
For the last two years, Nak’azdli has worked tirelessly with the Cariboo Cougars and Northern Capitals to present the Winter Classic outdoor games at the Ernie Sam Memorial Arena.
When approached about developing the Ernie Sam Memorial Arena and event, the Nak’azdli were dedicated to seeing the project come to fruition. They saw an opportunity to get their youth involved, and the development of this facility as a way to encourage hope, participation, and teamwork within their community.
2019-2020 WINNER: Brendan Hutchinson (Smithers)
Brendan Hutchinson has made it his passion to improve coaching in Northern BC.
Brendan does it all, from running coaching clinics, certifying coaches, coaching the Hockey Academy, running after school programs, coaching female ice times, try-it hockey program development, as well as taking on the head coach role for Smithers Minor Hockey Association along with technical director.
2019-2020 WINNER: Nigel Creightney
(New Westminster)
Nigel has created a culture of fairness, personal responsibility and respect that has resonated with his players, coaching staff and parents.
His effort and energy that he has brought as a coach has not only benefitted his team, but will pay dividends for New Westminster Minor Hockey Association.
2019-2020 WINNER: Greg Hermiston (Kamloops)
Greg is the head regional scout for the BC Hockey Female Program of Excellence (POE).
He has devoted his time to carry-out in-season evaluations and is he lead evaluator at the BC Hockey POE camps. He attends multiple showcases/camps and is consistent in providing evaluations and reports on players throughout the province.
Greg has a strong bond directly with players and team staff that has created a great relationship, which has continued to grow, with Hockey Canada, BC Hockey, and our members/participants.
2019-2020 WINNER: Jamie Jackson (Surrey)
bc hockey
Jamie is the head coach of the Vancouver North East Chiefs in BC Hockey’s U18AAA league.
He took the position of head coach with Team BC on short notice after the previous coach resigned midway through the evaluation process for the team.
Jamie was able to lead the team to a 3-2-0 record at the Western Hockey League (WHL) Cup to clinch a bronze medal for British Columbia.
He has volunteered with BC Hockey’s Program of Excellence for many years.
2019-2020 WINNER: Darren Mahaffy (White Rock)
Darren has served the Surrey Female Hockey Association since 2014. He got into officiating as an adult and has spent his officiating career in service to the game.
During his time as Referee-in-Chief with Surrey Female, the Association has produced female officials who continue to officiate as adults.
Darren is a credit to the program and is a dedicated volunteer for Surrey Female Hockey Association.
2019-2020 WINNER: Danika Kroeker (Prince George)
Danika Kroeker has proven to be one (1) of BC Hockey’s and Hockey Canada’s top up-and-coming officials.
From Prince George Minor Hockey Association, Danika is 21 years of age. Danika currently officiates in the British Columbia Hockey League, USports and BC Hockey Zone Program (U18/U16 AAA). Danika has given back to BC Hockey as a Summer School Instructor, HCOP clinic instructor, minor mentor and has assisted in multiple Western Hockey League Officiating Nights. Danika is an excellent role model and example for young female officials across the country.
Danika is currently employed as a Correctional Officer in Prince George and has used her officiating experience to excel in her professional career.
2019-2020 WINNER: Surrey Female Hockey Association
Surrey Female Hockey Association had several major highlights this past season including:
Registration numbers have increased from 176 registrants in 2014 to 264 registrants in 2019, a 50 per cent increase over five (5) years.
Surrey Female runs one of the most sought after and successful tournaments in BC. The annual Wickfest tournament, in partnership with Hayley Wickenheiser’s organization, brings over 75 teams to Surrey at the start of February each year. This year the tournament grew by over 20 per cent with the addition of ice at the new North Surrey Arena.
Never in their history have Falcon teams raised so many banners in a single season (11 of a possible 36). Further, during the past two (2) seasons the Bantam A (2019) and Pee Wee A (2018) teams won BC Hockey Championships.
The organization has grown in number of registrants, quality of performance of players and commitment to the game through community engagement and the officiating program.
2019-2020 WINNER: Gary Mizuno (Surrey)
Gary has led the Surrey Female Hockey Association for the past three (3) years as president and for several years previously as treasurer. He is a humble person and would not seek the limelight for his accomplishments but deserves recognition for his commitment to growing the game and the Association.
As President, Gary has been focused on growing our registration base while improving our overall commitment to players and their families.
Gary has led an organization that is substantially on the rise in the Lower Mainland. His focus on development, partnership, public relations, advocacy, and organizational health is at the core of why this has been a success.