Abbotsford’s Justin Douglas scores a try against Spain in the quarterfinals of the 2020 HSBC Canada Sevens, the final event before the World Rugby HSBC Sevens Series was shut down

After over a year without competition, Rugby Canada’s senior sevens programs will depart for Dubai this week to participate in two Olympic preparation tournaments.  The Emirates Invitational 7s will be, a competitive training camp including two tournament weekends for a number of the best rugby sevens teams in the world.  Though not part of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, the Emirates Invitational 7s is a high-performance preparation event in advance of the Olympic Games in Tokyo.  The tournaments will be played over back-to-back weekends April 2-3 and April 8-9 at The Sevens Stadium in Dubai.

This will be the first competition for both teams since the global COVID-19 pandemic halted play on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series over a year ago.  For Canada’s women, their last competition on the Series was a silver medal finish at the Sydney 7s in February 2020.  For the men, their last competition was a bronze medal finish at HSBC Canada Sevens in Vancouver last March.  The Vancouver tournament was the final stop played on the sevens series before the 2020 season was concluded due to the pandemic.

Both teams are travelling with an extended squad of players.  The Dubai tournaments will be an opportunity for all players to get valuable live match play after several months of training under strict COVID protocols in Langford.

Canada Women’s Team

Delaney Aikens
Elissa Alarie
Olivia Apps
Brittany Benn
Pamphinette Buisa
Emma Chown
Caroline Crossley 
Bianca Farella
Julia Greenshields
Asia Hogan-Rochester
Sara Kaljuvee
Ghislaine Landry
Kaili Lukan
Kayla Moleschi 
Breanne Nicholas
Karen Paquin
Florence Symonds
Keyara Wardley
Charity Williams

Canada Men’s Team

Phil Berna
Connor Braid
Cooper Coats
Andrew Coe
Justin Douglas
Lucas Hammond
Nathan Hirayama
Harry Jones
Patrick Kay
Josiah Morra
Matt Mullins
Brennig Prevost
Alexander Russell
Theo Sauder
Jake Thiel
Conor Trainor
Brock Webster