The Camosun Chargers Athletics Department recognized the accomplishments of its athletes at the annual Chargers Awards Ceremony on April 12, 2022 at CFB Esquimalt Chief and Petty Officers’ Mess.


The first awards presented were the team awards. The Team Rookies went to women’s basketball Abby Rauh (Argyle Secondary/North Vancouver, B.C.), men’s basketball David Finch (Argyle Secondary/North Vancouver, B.C.), women’s volleyball Rilyn Boorman (Hunting Hills High/Red Deer, AB), and men’s volleyball Tristan Cumming (Reynolds Secondary/Victoria, B.C.).


The Team Leadership Awards (respectively) are Rhiannon Ware (Medicine Hat High/Medicine Hat, AB), Austin and Calvin Somers (Lambrick Park Secondary/Victoria, B.C.), Hannah May (Belmont Secondary/Victoria, B.C.), and Brendan Folkerts (MBCI/Winnipeg, MB).


The Team Most Valuable Players (MVPs) are Tegan Michel (Oak Bay High/Victoria, B.C.), Noah Helman (Claremont Secondary/Victoria, B.C.), Erica Bolink (Pacific Christian/Victoria, B.C.), and Eduardo Bidá (Colégio Gabarito/Uberlândia, MG, Brazil).


Later in the evening, third-year setter, Kyle Butterworth (Okanagan Mission/Kelowna, B.C.), was presented with the Derek Twomey Scholarship for Sport. The award is presented annually to honour the late Chargers setter, Derek Twomey, and recognize a men’s volleyball student- athlete who reflects the qualities that Derek brought to the Chargers program.


The final award of the night was the President’s Award which recognizes the student-athlete who best demonstrates a combined achievement in athletics and academics. The President’s Award was presented to women’s basketball second year guard Julia Forsyth (Crescent Heights High/Medicine Hat, AB).


The volleyball teams were also recognized for their incredible season that resulted in a pair of Pacific Western Athletic Association (PACWEST) golds and Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) gold medal (men’s) and silver (women’s) medals.


Avery Hansen (Lindsay Thurber High/Red Deer, AB), Kris La Guardia (Vancouver College/Vancouver, B.C.), Dale MacDonell (Pacific Christian/Victoria, B.C.), Lucas Maffia (Oak Bay High/Victoria, B.C.), and Isaiah Romanow (Oak Bay High/Victoria, B.C.) along with Bida, Bolink, Boorman, Cumming, Folkerts, Helman, May, McNeice, and Ware were recognized for their efforts on the court by the Pacific Western Athletic Association (PACWEST) and the Canadian Collegiate Athletics Association (CCAA).


Several other awards were presented during the evening, including the Passion Sports Legacy Awards which recognized and honoured athletes who demonstrate a dedication to their program and positively enhance the collegiate sport for others. The recipients were Forsyth, Eric Lees (Charles Hays Secondary/Prince Rupert, B.C.), Bolink, and Graham Basi (Reynolds Secondary/Victoria, B.C.). The Trudy and Doug Pederson Charitable Foundation Scholarship was presented to Ware and McNeice for their ethic, commitment, and performance. Allie Brinton (Lambrick Park Secondary/Victoria, B.C.) was presented with the Victoria Women’s Basketball League Award for her dedication to the sport and to the community.