the dragon slayer will take his place in the ROH as part of the team's 50th season celebrations

The Vancouver Canucks are proud to announce that they will celebrate the career of Alex Burrows by inducting him into the Canucks Ring of Honour during the team’s 50th season celebrations.

“Alex’s story of being undrafted, battling in the minors and earning a spot on one of the most productive lines in team history is remarkable,” said Jim Benning, Vancouver Canucks General Manager. “He was the type of guy you loved on your team, but despised if you were his opponent. He did whatever was needed to help his teammates win and his passion was infectious. His level of excellence, character, community giving and impact on the franchise makes this avery deserving honour for Alex and his family.”

Burrows, a fan favourite for his impassioned play, was known for scoring some of the biggest goals in team history. He ranks eighth in franchise history for most game-winners (28). He added another three game-winners in the playoffs(tied for 7th most in Canucks history), including the game 7 series-winner over Chicago in 2011. The Montreal native ranks sixth on the team’s all-time history list for games played (822), ninth for goals (822), and 14th for points (822). Over the course of his Canucks career he was also named as the Canucks “Most Exciting Player” three times (2008, 2009 and 2010) and earned the Fred J. Hume award as the team’s “Unsung Hero” in 2008.

Undrafted, Burrows worked through the ranks of the ECHL and AHL before signing as a free agent with Vancouver on November 8, 2005. He would go on to play 913 NHL games over the course of 13 seasons with the Vancouver Canucks and Ottawa Senators, accumulating 409 points (205-204-409).

The Canucks Ring of Honour was launched in the 2010.11 season to celebrate Canucks heroes who have made a lasting impact on the franchise. Burrows will become the seventh member of the Canucks Ring of Honour joining Orland Kurtenbach, Kirk McLean, Thomas Gradin, Harold Snepsts, Pat Quinn and Mattias Ohlund.