PHOTO: Hockey Canada

The BC Hockey Hall of Fame announced Monday that the 2012 Penticton Vees will be part of the 2020 Hall of Fame class, inducted on July 24th at the South Okanagan Events Centre.


The 2012 Vees had one of the most historic seasons in the franchises’ history, posting a 54-4-2 record during their 60-game regular season, outscoring their opposition by a mark of 334 to 133. Part of those 54 wins included a 42-game winning streak, which stands as the longest winning streak in BC Hockey League, Canadian Junior Hockey League and North American Junior Hockey history. The team also broke records for points with 110 and wins in a season with their 54.


The Vees defeated the Chilliwack Chiefs in six games before claiming the Interior Division Championship, beating the Merritt Centennials in five games. Penticton earned the Fred Page Cup after a four-game sweep of the Powell River Kings to advance to the Doyle Cup, which was won in five games as the Vees defeated the Brooks Bandits of the Alberta Junior Hockey League.


The Vees advanced to the Royal Bank Cup and, after falling in their opening two games of the tournament, strung together four consecutive wins, including a 3-0 victory over the Soo Thunderbirds in the Semi-Final before claiming the franchises’ third National Championship with a 4-3 win over the Woodstock Slammers.


Three members of the team were selected in the 2011 National Hockey League Entry Draft as forward Mario Lucia was selected 60th overall by the Minnesota Wild, forward Steven Fogarty was taken 72nd overall by the New York Rangers and defenseman Mike Reilly was drafted 98th overall by the Columbus Blue Jackets. Forward Wade Murphy was also drafted into the NHL during the 2013 Entry Draft, going 185th overall to the Nashville Predators.


Three players from the team have played in the NHL as Fogarty, Reilly and defenseman Troy Stecher have all suited up in the 2019/20 NHL season while 9 players from the team have continued on to play pro hockey.


“This is a proud moment for our entire organization and community,” said Vees President, General Manager and Head Coach Fred Harbinson, “The 2012 players and staff were a part of a magical season that will now be part of the fantastic history of hockey in BC. This group of young men did so much to create what the Penticton Vees are today.”


The 2012 Vees are joined by former Vancouver Canucks and NHL defenseman Mattias Ohlund, former NHLer Eric Brewer, former NHL referee Jay Sharrers, former Junior ‘B’ hockey President Ray Stonehouse and the 2002 Kootenay Ice to be inducted in this year’s class.