Photo credits: Jonathan Knight Photography (Johnson), Rob Rasmussen (Tufto), Mark Kuhlmann (Kawaguchi), UConn Athletic Communications (Evans)

The first batch of nominees for the NCAA’s Hobey Baker Award as college hockey’s top players has been announced and there are 11 BCHL alums up for the honour.

The award is based on the following criteria:

  • Strength of character, on and off the ice
  • Contribution to the integrity of the team
  • Outstanding skills in all phases of the game
  • Scholastic achievement and sportsmanship

There are 50 players nominated this year. Nominations were submitted by the athletic departments of the Division I schools with a maximum of three candidates from any one school.

The BCHL alums nominated for the award are:


Ashton Calder – Junior – Lake Superior State University (Surrey Eagles)
Grant Cruikshank – Junior – Colorado College (Penticton Vees)
Jonny Evans – Junior – University of Connecticut (Powell River Kings)
Kent Johnson – Freshman – University of Michigan (Trail Smoke Eaters)
Jordan Kawaguchi – Senior – University of North Dakota (Chilliwack Chiefs)
Keaton Mastrodonato – Sophomore – Canisius College (Alberni Valley Bulldogs)
Ryan Steele – Junior – Sacred Heart University (Alberni Valley Bulldogs/West Kelowna Warriors)
Braeden Tuck – Sophomore – Sacred Heard University (Trail Smoke Eaters)
Odeen Tufto – Senior – Quinnipiac University (Vernon Vipers)
Taylor Ward – Junior – University of Nebraska-Omaha (Penticton Vees)


Jack LaFontaine – Senior – University of Minnesota (Penticton Vees)


Fans can view the full list of Hobey Baker nominees and vote on who they think should take home the award by visiting the Hobey Baker voting page.

Fan voting for the award will run through Mar. 8. Once phase one of voting is complete, the Top 10 Candidates will be announced.