The BC Hockey Hall of Fame will hold its first induction ceremony since 2019, following two years erased by the COVID-19 pandemic, and includes the 2012 National Champion Penticton Vees set for Friday, July 22nd at the South Okanagan Events Centre.  


The 2012 Vees had a season for the history books, breaking numerous records en route to a 54-4-0-2 regular season before dropping just three games in the playoffs. The Vees won 42 consecutive games, a Canadian Junior Hockey League record, as well as setting the record for most wins (54), points (110) and highest winning percentage (.917) in BCHL history.  


Penticton met the Brooks Bandits in the Doyle Cup, winning the series in five games to advance to the RBC Cup. After falling the first two games of the round robin of the National tournament, the Vees pushed to the RBC Cup Final and earned a late goal from Joey Benik to claim a 4-3 victory over the Woodstock Slammers and be crowned 2012 RBC Cup Champions.  


Many of the players on the roster of the 2012 club went on to play pro hockey while forward Steven Fogarty and defensemen Troy Stetcher and Mike Reilly have all played games in the National Hockey League.  


“Every championship team has a unique story behind it,” mentioned President, General Manager and Head Coach Fred Harbinson, “The 2012 team created so many story lines while breaking many of Junior hockey’s records along the away. It will be great for the fans of Penticton to have a chance to see that group of players come back for what should be an outstanding weekend.” 


10 years after winning the National Championship in Humboldt, Saskatchewan, the 2012 Vees will be placed amongst hockey’s best in the province of BC and joined by former NHL Official Jay Sharrers, former NHL defenseman Eric Brewer, former Vancouver Canucks defenseman Mattias Ohlund, Junior hockey builder, the late Ray Stonehouse and 2002 Memorial Cup champion Kootenay Ice.  


The event is set for Friday, July 22nd at the SOEC.