In a unanimous decision made by the 18 BC Hockey League broadcasters, the 2022-23 Jim Hughson Award for Broadcaster of the Year has been awarded to former Wenatchee Wild play-by-play man Arch Ecker.

Ecker, who had been in the booth with the Wild since 2016, sadly passed away in September just prior to the start of the BCHL season.

“Arch would have been very humbled and proud to know that his colleagues recognized him with this award,” said Wild general manager Bliss Littler. “The Wild are so proud of Arch and all that he brought to the broadcast booth, the Wild organization as well as the Wenatchee Valley.”

During his tenure in the BCHL, Ecker called the Wild’s 2018 playoff run, which resulted in the team’s first ever Fred Page Cup championship, as well as a Doyle Cup win and an appearance in the national championship tournament. A hockey lifer, he had over 20 years of experience working in junior hockey, even before coming to Wenatchee.

“Arch was a great friend and someone whose personality was larger than life and is sorely missed,” said West Kelowna Warriors broadcaster Trevor Miller. “Naming him the Broadcaster of the Year was an easy choice for the broadcasting community, as he demonstrated all the qualities that are required.”

“He put his heart and soul into every broadcast,” said Vernon Vipers play-by-play man Graham Turnbull. “I’m sure the Wild faithful would echo that. He cared so much for the players, the team and the BCHL. It’s not the same without him, but this is a great way to pay tribute to him.”

Previous winners of the Broadcaster of the Year Award include:

2022 – Evan Hammond, Alberni Valley Bulldogs & Graham Turnbull, Vernon Vipers
2020 – Justis Doucet, Cowichan Valley Capitals
2019 – Trevor Miller, Trail Smoke Eaters
2018 – Graham Turnbull, Vernon Vipers
2017 – Fraser Rodgers, Penticton Vees
2016 – Alex Rawnsley, Powell River Kings & Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2015 – Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2014 – Marc Fitzgerald, Chilliwack Chiefs
2013 – Evan Hammond, Alberni Valley Bulldogs
2012 – Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2011 – Eddie Gregory, Coquitlam Express
2010 – Todd Miller, Vernon Vipers
2009 – Evan Hammond, Alberni Valley Bulldogs